Harmless stoners criminalized: Amsterdam back to the stone age

2021-02-10-amsterdam-artikelbild2.jpg

Amsterdam Mayor Femke Halsema has put forward a proposal that only residents of the Netherlands would get a so-called “Wiet-Pas,” which could be mandatory for buying cannabis in coffee shops as early as 2022(Tagesschau reports, Dutch original).

For tourists, this is a hard blow: If you could start your vacation in the Netherlands comfortably with a detour in Amsterdam's numerous coffee shops, the new regulation will push you to the black market in the alley in the future.

Mayor Halsema actually wants to reduce crime with her proposal, but abstinence doesn't work, as we know(source: Abstinence in Addiction Treatment)!

Tourists, of course, know exactly where this trip is headed: Within walking distance of the legal coffee shops, the street dealers who sell specifically to tourists are then bustling - so we have already personally experienced this in US cities such as San Francisco (before the legalization in 2016) or Seattle. A black market for tourists has also appeared in Uruguay. This reintroduces the risk of getting hold of stolen or dangerous substances.

The cliché with which Mayor Halsema lumps together all pot smokers is also shocking: In her eyes, you are apparently either a good tourist or a permanent pothead. Halsema categorically rules out the possibility of enjoying Amsterdam's culture, bike paths, nature or music scene even more impressively with a little cannabis.

Mrs. Halsema, we of the association Legalize it! appeal: Make progress in Amsterdam, not regression! Abstinence and bans do not work. Instead, focus on harm reduction, education and legal access for all consumers, including tourists.

More open letters to Mayor Halsema

en/verein_li/amsterdam2021.txt · Last modified: 2021/10/18 17:19 (external edit)
This page was translated automatically. Please report mistakes if you find any!

Share page: facebook Twitter

Factsheet Association:

Factsheet Association Legalize it!


Board of Directors

Do you speak English? → go to our English page!

Les fumeurs inoffensifs sont criminalisés : Amsterdam à l'âge de pierre

2021-02-10-amsterdam-artikelbild2.jpg

La maire d'Amsterdam, Femke Halsema, a présenté une proposition selon laquelle seuls les résidents des Pays-Bas recevraient un “Wiet-Pas”, qui pourrait être obligatoire pour l'achat de cannabis dans les coffee shops dès 2022(rapports Tagesschau, original néerlandais).

Pour les touristes, c'est un coup dur : alors que jusqu'à présent vous pouviez confortablement commencer vos vacances aux Pays-Bas par un détour dans les nombreux cafés d'Amsterdam, le nouveau règlement vous obligera à l'avenir à vous rendre au marché noir dans la ruelle.

La maire Halsema veut en fait réduire la criminalité avec sa proposition, mais l'abstinence n'est pas connue pour fonctionner(source : Abstinence in Addiction Treatment) !

Les touristes, bien sûr, savent exactement où ce voyage mène : À quelques pas des coffee shops légaux, on trouve des dealers de rue qui vendent spécifiquement aux touristes - nous en avons déjà fait personnellement l'expérience dans des villes américaines comme San Francisco (avant la légalisation en 2016) ou Seattle. Un marché noir des touristes est également apparu en Uruguay. Cela réintroduit le risque de mettre la main sur des substances volées ou dangereuses.

Le cliché que le maire Halsema utilise pour mettre tous les fumeurs d'herbe dans le même sac est également choquant : À ses yeux, vous êtes soit un bon touriste, soit un drogué permanent. Halsema exclut catégoriquement la possibilité de profiter de la culture, des pistes cyclables, de la nature ou de la scène musicale d'Amsterdam de manière encore plus impressionnante avec un peu de cannabis.

Mme Halsema, nous, à l'association Legalize it! appel : Faites des progrès à Amsterdam, pas des régressions ! L'abstinence et les interdictions ne fonctionnent pas. Il faut plutôt se concentrer sur la réduction des risques, l'éducation et l'accès légal pour tous les consommateurs, y compris les touristes.

Plus de lettres ouvertes au maire Halsema

fr/verein_li/amsterdam2021.txt · Dernière modification: 2021/10/18 17:20 (modification externe)
Cette page a été traduite automatiquement. Veuillez signaler les erreurs si vous en trouvez !

Partager la page: facebook Twitter

Association Factsheet :

Fiche d'information Association Legalize it!


Comité