li400405.jpg

About the nonsense and the cost of repression

Trying to enforce a ban costs money. Two studies attempt to quantify the expense. We compare the two approaches. And we ask ourselves: Is it worth the effort? Or is it simply throwing money out the window? One thing is clear: a lot of money is at stake.

According to the Narcotics Act, handling THC products is completely prohibited for almost everyone. The police and the judiciary rely on this, and produce around 40,000 convictions in this area every year. The prosecution of the handlers and the consumers should not be an end in itself. The purpose of this effort is to increase the cost of dealing or consuming in such a way that neither dealing nor consuming is worthwhile. Thus, there should be less (or preferably no) THC products on the market, and THC users should be deterred from consumption by repression. However, comparisons between countries with different levels of repression show that the strength of prosecution has practically no influence on how many people have ever used THC products. This lifetime prevalence is, for example, much lower in Holland (where consumption and trade are largely tolerated) than in Switzerland.

The benefit of consumption

In other words, people use THC because it makes them feel very good. The consumption of THC therefore brings the users an improvement in their life situation. Consumption is not irrational, but reasonable and brings an increase in the enjoyment of life. Therefore, the users are quite insensitive to the persecution measures. “Legal, illegal, who gives a shit” is still the motto for many.

The nonsense of repression

Studies show that a doubling of repressive measures leads to a reduction in consumption of around 16%, and a doubling of fines leads to a reduction in consumption of only 0.8%. Although the number of convictions for THC use has been increasing for years, the number of people who have already used is also increasing. Thus, repression does not result in fewer people coming into contact with THC products. It seems to be the case that the more people are reported, the more people consume… Or vice versa, the more people use, the more people are reported. One can understand the numbers in both ways. But for both views it is true: Repression is simply pointless, because it clearly misses its goal (to reduce supply and demand). However, it does not come for free, but costs money. Money that taxpayers have to pay. Money that is lacking in other places and could do something useful there.

The first study

According to the 1st study, the costs for the prosecution of THC use can be estimated as follows for the year 2003. In 2003, the police forces of the various cantons and municipalities (excluding traffic police) spent about 3.4 billion francs. With this money, the police forces processed about 380,000 criminal cases. Of these, 37,000 are THC-related offenses, or about 10%. This corresponds to at least 340 million francs. However, since there are no victims of THC use and trafficking who have an interest in reporting (as with most other crimes) and alerting the police to the crimes, the police must actively seek out the offenders. The effort for this proactive approach is estimated in the first study to be 2.5 times in relation to another report (where, after all, a report by an aggrieved party often triggers the prosecution ). Thus, the various police forces spend as much as about 821 million francs each year on the prosecution of THC use. In addition to the cantonal police forces, the federal government also spends around 300 million francs on repression. Of this, one fifth is spent on drug repression, of which about 80% is spent on THC repression. This adds up to a further cost of around 47 million francs. The expenses for the judiciary are added to this, the total for the whole of Switzerland amounts to 1.3 billion. Criminal justice, which is relevant for us here, consumes about 30% of this, of which about 25% is for THC repression. This results in about 97 million francs for THC repression. The penal system (both the actual sentences to be served and pre-trial detention, prisoner transport, etc.) needs about 771 million per year. Even though unconditional sentences in the THC area are not very frequent, it is assumed that about 75 million are spent on our area (about 10%). According to the first study, the total amount spent on THC repression in Switzerland in 2003 was over one billion francs.

The second study

The Federal Council's message on the initiative also mentions the costs of repression. It says: “The costs of repressive measures in 2003 amounted to an estimated 74.8 to 106.5 million francs.” So how does the administration come up with these much lower figures? To find out, we organized and read the second study that calculated these amounts. Although it mostly assumes the same basic figures, it arrives at much lower amounts because of other assumptions. In general, this study excludes from the outset all referrals that are not exclusively about THC use or trafficking, but also other illegal offenses (theft, for example). In addition, it is assumed here that a report for THC consumption only accounts for one fifth of the time of a report for hard drugs. This puts the value for police spending at only about 60 million francs. A second estimate of the study (simply 20 percent of the total costs for the prosecution of illegal narcotics) comes to the slightly higher value of about 90 million francs. To this must be added the costs of the non-cantonal police forces: Border police, other security services and federal police agencies. This adds up to another three to five million francs. The second study puts the court costs at just under seven million francs. But here, too, court cases involving other criminal acts are simply omitted altogether. In the penal system, even only one percent of the total drug costs are included, which does not add up to four million francs. The costs of miscellaneous items (prisoner transport, etc.) are also estimated at one percent, which adds up to another million. Intotal, the second study arrives at 74.8 to 106.5 million francs, which are spent annually on THC repression. This is a good ten times less than in the first study.

What is true now?

The second study certainly underestimates the costs. Just by excluding all court cases and referrals that have to do with other than THC, it obviously underestimates a part of the costs. Because even if the other offenses have to be prosecuted under legal THC conditions, each report, each individual offense needs its processing time. And thus it causes costs. This study, however, has a special approach: It wants to quantify the potential savings that could result from legalization and virtually adds up the “net costs”. The first study, on the other hand, tries to calculate the total costs as full costs, quasi as “gross costs”. In doing so, it seems to me to take a much more well-founded approach than the second. The police costs are perhaps somewhat overestimated here, the factor 2.5 could be too high. Our calculations (in the box on page 4) indicate an amount between the two studies. What is very certain, however, is that our state spends hundreds of millions francs annually on THC repression! And: In any case, a lot of money is spent on repression without any socially useful results.

Who benefits from the current situation, who from legalization?

The THC illegality benefits a part of the repressive organs (only thanks to the prohibition they receive their wages) and the dealers (only thanks to the illegality they are in business). So both groups have a common economic interest in today's illegality. THC users and society, on the other hand, have a great common interest in legalization. For the users: The quality would be better; there would be no more prosecution. For society: The costs of consumption would be paid by the users themselves and no longer by the general public; less tax money would be needed for the police; there would be less crime.

Taxation instead of repression!

It would therefore be much more advantageous for society if THC products were legalized and taxed at the level of the actual costs: This would eliminate the costs of state repression (the costs of control would be passed on to the legalized trade), and the social costs of consumption would be recovered through the taxation of stimulants. In addition, one takes away the basis of the whole criminal energy, which is connected with the THC-trade today. This would make it impossible for criminal gangs to get rich from the trade and invest the money in further crime (terrorism, mafia structures). Today, on the other hand, the senseless and ineffective repression makes these money flows possible in the first place and is complicit in them. The whole society, not only the consumers, would be better off with a legalization.

Study 1 Baumann, Sheron. Economic analysis of the Swiss cannabis market. Licentiate thesis at the University of Bern, 2006.
Study 2 Jeanrenaud, Claude. Initiative populaire fédérale “Pour une politique raisonnable en matière de chanvre protégeant efficacement la jeuneusse,” Analyse de l'impact économique. Institut de recherches économique, Université de Neuchâtel, 2006.

Our own account

We try to make our own estimate of the costs from practical experience. Each report for THC use must be detected (assumption: this takes an average of one hour patrol by two officers), then the person must be stopped, checked, questioned and made to sign the protocol. Occasionally, a ride-along to the post and a strip search must also be arranged. In addition, a report must be prepared, the confiscated items must be filed and later destroyed, the business check must be done (assumption: on average two hours of work for two officers). Then a summary penalty order has to be formulated and drawn up, sent out and the collection supervised and occasionally debt collection and the like organized (assumption: one hour's work). In total, this adds up to seven hours, multiplied by 35,735 reprimands (year 2005), multiplied by 150 francs (estimated total cost of one police working hour) thus adds up to 37.5 million francs. (The cost of training, meetings, work materials, documentation, vacations, and the like are included in the full cost assumptions above). For the 3,322 referrals for THC trafficking, we estimate 415 hours per case (general/dossier management 20, personal and telephone monitoring 70, translations 10, subpoenas 5, interviews of defendants and witnesses 40, house searches and raids 80, pre-trial detention 20, arraignment 20, court sessions of all instances incl. preparation 100, execution 50). Thus, 415 x 150 x 3,322 = about 207 million francs. Thus, we estimate the total cost to be at least 250 million francs per year, which is between the two studies cited.

The nonsense of the THC ban

In other words, a market that generates around one billion francs per year (for this estimate, see Legalize it! issue 38, page 6) is being fought with hundreds of millions of tax francs per year. This should then be a good example of proportional nonsense. The amount of the social costs of THC consumption is about 189 million francs per year, if one assumes that per consumed joint costs are similar to the costs for the consumption of a cigarette. However, the black market does not cover these costs at all. Society has to pay these costs in addition to the repression costs. This makes the repression against THC finally absurd:

- First, it does not reduce the contact with THC products.

- Secondly, it costs hundreds of millions francs per year.

- Third, the social costs of consumption are lower than the repression costs.

Thus, more money is spent to fight the “evil” than it actually costs. And in doing so, one does not even achieve a reduction of this “problem”, which the people concerned themselves experience as something highly pleasant.

en/thc_recht/li400405.txt · Last modified: 2022/03/26 16:23 (external edit)
This page was translated automatically. Please report mistakes if you find any!

Share page: facebook Twitter

Legal Aid Brochure

Unfortunately, this brochure is only available in German.

Shit happens, 14th edition summer 2021


Shit happens 14
Order now

Hanf, Kiffen, THC und die Gesetze zur Verfolgung von Cannabis
 

Über den Unsinn und die Kosten der Repression

Der Versuch, ein Verbot durchzusetzen, kostet Geld. Zwei Studien versuchen, den Aufwand zu beziffern. Wir vergleichen die beiden Ansätze. Und wir fragen uns: Lohnt sich der Aufwand? Oder wird schlicht Geld zum Fenster herausgeworfen? Klar ist: Es geht um viel Geld.

Laut Betäubungsmittelgesetz ist der Umgang mit THC-Produkten für fast alle vollständig verboten. Darauf stützen sich Polizei und Justiz und produzieren jedes Jahr gegen 40’000 Verzeigungen in diesem Bereich. Die Verfolgung der Handeltreibenden und der Konsumierenden soll dabei nicht Selbstzweck sein. Der Sinn dieses Aufwandes ist, die Kosten fürs Handeltreiben oder Konsumieren so zu erhöhen, dass sich weder Handel noch Konsum lohnen. Es soll also weniger (oder am besten eben gar keine) THC-Produkte im Angebot haben, und die THC-Konsumierenden sollen mit der Repression vom Konsum abgeschreckt werden. Doch aus Vergleichen zwischen unterschiedlich repressiven Ländern weiss man, dass die Stärke der Verfolgung praktisch keinen Einfluss darauf hat, wie viele Menschen schon einmal THC-Produkte konsumiert haben. Diese Lebenszeitprävalenz ist zum Beispiel in Holland (mit einer weitgehenden Duldung von Konsum und Handel) um einiges tiefer als in der Schweiz.

Der Nutzen des Konsums

Anders herum gesagt: Konsumiert wird, weil die Konsumierenden dadurch sehr gute Gefühle bekommen. Der THC-Genuss bringt den Konsumierenden also eine Verbesserung ihrer Lebenslage. Der Konsum ist nicht irrational, sondern vernünftig und bringt einen Zugewinn an Lebensgenuss. Daher sind die Konsumierenden ziemlich unempfindlich gegenüber den Verfolgungsmassnahmen. «Legal, illegal, scheissegal» lautet für viele nach wie vor das Motto.

Der Unsinn der Repression

Studien zeigen, dass eine Verdoppelung der Repressionsmassnahmen eine Reduktion des Konsums um rund 16% bringt und eine Verdoppelung der Bussenhöhe sogar nur 0.8% weniger Konsum bewirkt. Obwohl die Verzeigungsraten wegen THC-Konsums seit Jahren immer weiter ansteigen, steigt eben auch die Anzahl der Menschen an, die schon einmal konsumiert hat. Die Repression hat also nicht zur Folge, dass weniger Menschen mit THC-Produkten in Kontakt kommen. Sondern es scheint so zu sein, dass je mehr Menschen verzeigt werden, desto mehr konsumieren auch… Oder umgekehrt, je mehr Menschen konsumieren, desto mehr werden halt verzeigt. Man kann die Zahlen auf beide Arten verstehen. Doch für beide Sichtweisen gilt: Die Repression ist schlicht sinnlos, weil sie ihr Ziel (Angebot und Nachfrage zu reduzieren) klar verfehlt. Allerdings ist sie nicht gratis zu haben, sondern kostet Geld. Geld, das die Steuerzahlenden aufbringen müssen. Geld, das an anderen Orten fehlt und dort etwas Sinnvolles bewirken könnte.

Die erste Studie

Die Kosten für die Verfolgung des THC-Genusses lassen sich laut der 1. Studie folgendermassen für das Jahr 2003 abschätzen. Die Polizeien der verschiedenen Kantone und Gemeinden (ohne Verkehrspolizei) verbrauchten 2003 etwa 3.4 Mia. Franken. Mit diesem Geld bearbeiteten die Polizeien rund 380’000 Straftaten. Davon sind 37’000 Straftaten rund um THC, also etwa 10%. Dies entspricht mindestens einem Anteil von 340 Mio. Franken. Da es beim THC-Konsum und -Handel jedoch keine Opfer gibt, die (wie bei den meisten anderen Straftaten) ein Interesse an einer Anzeige haben und die Polizeien auf die Straftaten hinweisen, muss die Polizei aktiv auf die Suche nach den StraftäterInnen gehen. Der Aufwand für dieses proaktive Vorgehen wird in der ersten Studie auf das 2.5fache im Verhältnis zu einer sonstigen Verzeigung geschätzt (wo ja häufig eine Anzeige eines Geschädigten die Verfolgung auslöst). Damit geben die verschiedenen Polizeien sogar rund 821 Mio. Franken jedes Jahr für die Verfolgung des THC-Genusses aus. Neben den kantonalen Polizeien gibt auch der Bund rund 300 Mio. Franken für die Repression aus. Davon wird ein Fünftel für Drogenrepression ausgegeben, davon wird wiederum gegen 80% für THC-Repression aufgewendet. Macht also weitere Kosten von gegen 47 Mio. Franken. Die Aufwendungen für die Justiz kommen hinzu, 1.3 Mia. beträgt das gesamtschweizerische Total. Die Strafjustiz, die hier für uns relevant ist, verbraucht davon etwa 30%, davon sind wiederum rund 25% für die THC-Repression. Ergibt also rund 97 Mio. Franken für die THC-Repression. Der Strafvollzug (sowohl die eigentlichen abzusitzenden Strafen wie auch Untersuchungshaft, Häftlingstransport u.a.) braucht rund 771 Mio. pro Jahr. Auch wenn unbedingte Strafen im THC-Bereich nicht sehr häufig sind, wird angenommen, dass rund 75 Mio. für unseren Bereich aufgewendet werden (etwa 10%). Im Total ergeben sich laut der ersten Studie über eine Milliarde Franken, die gesamthaft in der Schweiz 2003 für die THC-Repression aufgewendet wurden.

Die zweite Studie

In der bundesrätlichen Botschaft zur Initiative ist ebenfalls von den Kosten der Repression die Rede. Dort steht: «Die Kosten für Repressionsmassnahmen beliefen sich im Jahr 2003 auf schätzungsweise 74.8 bis 106.5 Mio. Franken.» Wie kommt nun die Verwaltung auf diese viel tieferen Zahlen? Dazu haben wir die zweite Studie organisiert und gelesen, die diese Beträge ausrechnete. Sie geht zwar meistens von den gleichen Grundzahlen aus, kommt aber wegen anderer Annahmen auf viel geringere Beträge. Ganz generell schliesst diese Studie alle Verzeigungen von vornherein aus, in denen es nicht ausschliesslich um THC-Konsum oder -Handel geht, sondern noch weitere illegale Delikte dazukommen (Diebstahl zum Beispiel). Ausserdem geht man hier davon aus, dass eine Anzeige wegen THC-Konsums nur einen Fünftel der Zeit einer Verzeigung wegen harten Drogen ausmacht. Damit ist der Wert für die Ausgaben der Polizeien bei nur rund 60 Mio. Franken. Eine zweite Schätzung der Studie (einfach 20 Prozent der gesamten Kosten für die Verfolgung der illegalen Betäubungsmittel) kommt auf den etwas höheren Wert von gegen 90 Mio. Franken. Dazu kommen die Kosten der nichtkantonalen Polizeien: Grenzpolizei, sonstige Sicherheitsdienste und Bundespolizeistellen. Dies macht hier nochmals drei bis fünf Mio. Franken. Die Gerichtskosten beziffert die zweite Studie auf knapp sieben Mio. Franken. Doch auch hier werden Gerichtsprozesse, in denen es auch noch um andere strafbare Handlungen geht, einfach ganz weggelassen. Im Strafvollzug werden sogar nur ein Prozent der Gesamt-Drogen-Kosten einberechnet, was keine vier Mio. Franken ergibt. Ebenfalls auf ein Prozent werden die Kosten von Diversem veranschlagt (Häftlings-Transport u.ä.), was nochmals eine Mio. ergibt. Total kommt die zweite Studie so auf 74.8 bis 106.5 Mio. Franken, die jährlich für die THC-Repression aufgewendet werden. Das ist gut zehn Mal weniger als in der ersten Studie.

Was stimmt nun?

Die zweite Studie unterschätzt die Kosten mit Sicherheit. Nur schon durch ihren Ausschluss aller Gerichtsverhandlungen und Verzeigungen, die noch mit anderem als THC zu tun haben, unterschlägt sie offensichtlich einen Teil der Kosten. Denn auch wenn die sonstigen Straftatbestände auch unter legalen THC-Bedingungen verfolgt werden müssen, so braucht doch auch jede Verzeigung, jeder einzelne Straftatbestand halt seine Bearbeitungszeit. Und damit verursacht er Kosten. Diese Studie hat allerdings einen speziellen Ansatz: Sie will das Einsparpotenzial beziffern, das sich bei einer Legalisierung ergeben könnte und rechnet quasi die «Nettokosten» zusammen. Die erste Studie hingegen versucht, die Gesamtkosten als Vollkosten zu berechnen, quasi als «Bruttokosten». Dabei scheint sie mir um einiges fundierter vorzugehen als die zweite. Die Polizeikosten werden hier vielleicht etwas überschätzt, der Faktor 2.5 könnte zu hoch sein. Unsere Berechnungen (im Kasten Seite 4) deuten auf einen Betrag zwischen den beiden Studien hin. Was jedoch sehr sicher ist: Unser Staat gibt jährlich hunderte Millionen Franken für die Repression gegen THC aus! Und: Auf alle Fälle wird sehr viel Geld in die Repression gesteckt, ohne dass gesellschaftlich gesehen Sinnvolles dabei herauskommt.

Wer profitiert von der heutigen Lage, wer von einer Legalisierung?

Von der THC-Illegalität profitieren ein Teil der Repressionsorgane (nur Dank dem Verbot beziehen sie ihre Löhne) und die Dealer (nur Dank der Illegalität sind sie im Geschäft). Beide Gruppen haben also ein gemeinsames wirtschaftliches Interesse an der heutigen Illegalität. Die THC-Geniessenden und die Gesellschaft hingegen haben ein grosses gemeinsames Interesse an einer Legalisierung. Für die Konsumierenden: Die Qualität wäre besser; es gäbe keine Verfolgung mehr. Für die Gesellschaft: Die Kosten des Konsums würden von den Konsumierenden selber bezahlt und nicht mehr von der Allgemeinheit; es braucht weniger Steuergelder für die Polizei; es gibt weniger Kriminalität.

Besteuerung statt Repression!

Es wäre also sehr viel vorteilhafter für die Gesellschaft, wenn THC-Produkte legalisiert würden und in der Höhe der effektiven Kosten besteuert würden: Damit fallen die staatlichen Repressionskosten weg (die Kontrollkosten überwälzt man dem legalisierten Handel), die gesellschaftlichen Kosten des Konsums holt man über die Genussmittel-Besteuerung wieder herein. Dazu nimmt man der ganzen kriminellen Energie, die heute mit dem THC-Handel verbandelt ist, die Basis weg. Man könnte so verunmöglichen, dass kriminelle Banden sich am Handel bereichern und das Geld in weitere Kriminalität investieren können (Terrorismus, mafiose Strukturen). Heute hingegen ermöglicht die sinnlose und ineffektive Repression diese Geldflüsse erst und macht sich daran mitschuldig. Die ganze Gesellschaft, nicht nur die Konsumierenden, wäre bei einer Legalisierung besser dran.

Studie 1 Baumann, Sheron. Ökonomische Analyse des Schweizer Cannabismarktes. Lizentiatsarbeit an der Universität Bern, 2006.
Studie 2 Jeanrenaud, Claude. Initiative populaire fédérale «Pour une politique raisonnable en matière de chanvre protégeant efficacement la jeuneusse», Analyse de l’impact économique. Institut de recherches économique, Université de Neuchâtel, 2006.

Unsere eigene Rechnung

Wir versuchen eine eigene Einschätzung der Kosten aus der Praxis heraus. Jede Verzeigung wegen THC-Konsums muss entdeckt werden (Annahme: das braucht im Schnitt eine Stunde Patrouille von zwei Beamten), dann muss die Person angehalten, kontrolliert, befragt und zum Unterschreiben des Protokolls bewegt werden. Gelegentlich ist auch eine Mitnahme auf den Posten und eine Leibesvisitation zu organisieren. Ausserdem muss ein Bericht erstellt werden, die beschlagnahmten Gegenstände müssen abgelegt und später vernichtet werden, die Geschäftskontrolle muss erledigt werden (Annahme: im Schnitt zwei Stunden Arbeit für zwei Beamte). Dann muss ein Strafbefehl formuliert und erstellt werden, versandt werden und das Inkasso überwacht und gelegentlich Betreibungen und Ähnliches organisiert werden (Annahme eine Stunde Arbeit). Total kommen so sieben Stunden zusammen, mal 35’735 Verzeigungen (Jahrgang 2005), mal 150 Franken (geschätzte Gesamtkosten einer polizeilichen Arbeitsstunde) ergibt somit 37,5 Mio. Franken. (Die Kosten für Ausbildung, Besprechungen, Arbeitsmaterialien, Dokumentation, Ferien und Ähnliches sind in den obigen Vollkosten-Annahmen enthalten.) Für die 3’322 Verzeigungen wegen THC-Handels schätzen wir den Aufwand auf 415 Stunden pro Fall (Allgemeines/Dossierführung 20, persönliche und telefonische Überwachungen 70, Übersetzungen 10, Vorladungen 5, Befragungen der Beschuldigten und ZeugInnen 40, Hausdurchsuchungen und Razzien 80, Untersuchungshaft 20, Anklageerhebung 20, Gerichtssitzungen aller Instanzen inkl. Vorbereitung 100, Vollzug 50). Ergibt also: 415 x 150 x 3’322 = rund 207 Mio. Franken. Damit schätzen wir die Gesamtkosten auf mindestens 250 Mio. Franken pro Jahr, was zwischen den beiden zitierten Studien liegt.

Der Unsinn des THC-Verbotes

Hier wird also ein Markt, auf dem rund eine Milliarde Franken pro Jahr umgesetzt werden (für diese Schätzung siehe Legalize it! Ausgabe 38, Seite 6), mit hunderten Millionen Steuerfranken pro Jahr bekämpft. Das dürfte dann wohl ein gutes Beispiel für Verhältnisblödsinn sein. Die Höhe der gesellschaftlichen Kosten des THC-Konsums beträgt etwa 189 Mio. Franken im Jahr, wenn man annimmt, dass pro konsumierten Joint ähnlich hohe Kosten wie für den Konsum einer Zigarette anfallen. Diese Kosten deckt der Schwarzmarkt aber überhaupt nicht. Diese muss die Gesellschaft zusätzlich, zu den Repressionskosten, berappen. Damit wird die Repression gegen THC endgültig absurd:

• Erstens reduziert sie die Kontaktaufnahme mit THC-Produkten nicht.

• Zweitens kostet sie hunderte Millionen Franken im Jahr.

• Drittens sind die gesellschaftlichen Kosten des Konsums tiefer als die Repressionskosten.

Man gibt also mehr Geld aus, um das «Übel» zu bekämpfen, als dieses überhaupt kostet. Und erreicht damit nicht einmal eine Verkleinerung dieses «Problems», das die Betroffenen selbst als etwas höchst Angenehmes erfahren.

thc_recht/li400405.txt · Zuletzt geändert: 2013/09/23 12:06 von fabian
 
Falls nicht anders bezeichnet, ist der Inhalt dieses Wikis unter der folgenden Lizenz veröffentlicht: CC Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported
Recent changes RSS feed Donate Powered by PHP Valid XHTML 1.0 Valid CSS Driven by DokuWiki