rappaz.jpg

The ordeal of Bernard Rappaz, part 4

We bring you the fourth part of Ruth's chronology on the hunger strike of Bernard Rappaz (BR) and the activities surrounding this affair. If you have any questions for BR, please feel free to write to us. we will forward them.

06/26/11 Letter to Sandra: Go to Zurich tomorrow, members event Legalize it! Bring part 3, The ordeal of hemp farmer Barnard Rappaz.

26.06.11 Card with hemp plant from BR: Good day Ruth, thank you very much for your package. Do you know of any international petitions? In France they are talking a lot now about legalizing hemp. One day hemp will be free. That is clear. The question is: when?

11.07.11 Letter to BR: Yes, there is international protest. Inserts: Grow Magazine July/August 2011, Petition to End the Global Drug War. And, in the same issue: Global Marijuana March 2011. Hemp Journal June 2011: Hemp Day has run.

05.08.11 NZZ: Rappaz complaint approved. BR does not have to pay the costs for his house arrest himself. The cantonal court of Valais has approved his complaint against a bill for 44,000 francs, which had been issued by the cantonal government. Rappaz was under house arrest from July 21 to August 26, 2010. Security personnel had to be deployed to guard him, which among other things caused the high costs. Tages-Anzeiger: Affair Rappaz - Rappaz does not have to pay costs for house arrest. Aargauerzeitung: House arrest - No costs for Valais hemp farmer.

17.08.11 Luzernerz., NZZ, Aargauerz., Reussbote: Sion - Rappaz on hunger strike again. He is of the opinion that he is entitled to a vacation of 24 hours already now and not only in September, since he has served one third of his prison sentence. The point of contention is the 37 days of his house arrest during pre-trial detention in 2006, which the penal authorities do not want to recognize.

08/29/11 Tel. from BR to Sandra. There is: www.tapagoille.blogspot.com, mais c'est en français…

31.08.11 Tel. from Sandra, she has received mail from BR: On August 18, the National Council rejected force-feeding. 12.09.11 Tel. from Sandra. Received letter from BR. Since September 8, the hunger strike is over. It lasted 26 days.

17.09.11 BR would have his first leave for 24 hours.

21.09.11 Tel. from Maggie: BR had no vacation. On 9/14 there was a urine test. He was THC positive. Instead of vacation he got five days “Cachot” - that is a cell in the basement.

29.09.11 Tel. to Sandra. She received a six-page letter from BR yesterday. He had drunk hemp tea from the Coop. He had stated in the urine test. The case is being investigated (see page three right).

03.10.11 Letter to BR: Today we have 60 years of hemp prohibition in Switzerland. That is crazy! And it is not over yet!

04.10.11 Card from BR. Salü Ruth, already 60 years!!! That is quite crazy!

20.10.11 Tel. from Sandra. She got mail from BR. He has a 24 hour vacation on 10/22.

11/11/11 Tel. to Sandra. Yes, BR had his vacation. Work was being done for the doc film. A book is also in the making.

07.12.11 Package and letter to BR: Salü Bernard, how are you? I work every day for the hemp policy! We want a change!

27.12.11 Tel. from Sandra. BR visited her over Christmas.

29.12.11 Letter from BR, written on 26.12. It goes well, thank you for your package, great! Your work for hemp politics is very wonderful. I also always work for hemp, with my book and a documentary film, 120 minutes. After 2013, I present the two projects. In 2012, in Valais, it is possible to have four hemp plants, from 18 years. Love greetings, Bernard.

With this fourth part, we conclude our series.

News from the jail

On the weekend of September 17/18, 2011, Bernard Rappaz would have had his first 24-hour outing after serving the first third of his sentence. Before that, however, there was a quick urine sample, which promptly turned out to be “positive.

The inmate claims to have complied with all the conditions and to be pot-free. The authorities are willing to have the hemp tea, which is legally sold and enjoyed, tested by Coop for traces of THC, but nevertheless order five days in the bunker instead of a “first exit”.

I'm sure the THC content of said tea bags is not “excessive”, but that's where the problem lies: The highly sensitive (THC-degradation-traces-in-the-urine) urine tests indicate a “positive” result far too quickly, which is very concerning given the drastic penalties that can follow a “positive” UP! Actual wrong judgments to the disadvantage of the suspects are so downright pre-programmed.

So if these UP tests run the risk of showing false results, whereby innocent people who have not smoked pot are exposed (and punished!) as “guilty” - and this probably happens more often than many think - our authorities should have the insight to do without urine tests for possible cannabis consumption in the future. I think so.

As for the “Rappaz case” in particular: Apart from the humiliation of a UP and the risk of a false result, I don't understand why this control was “necessary” at all with Bernard. He's been a hemp activist for around 40 years, he's approaching 60 lenze, so “youth protection” can't be the issue either. The authorities themselves know best what their prisoner has gone through in the last two years alone, and that he will never renounce hemp even because of five days in the bunker. So why all the harassment?

Bernard Rappaz is an exemplary inmate (except for possible hunger strikes for unfair decisions) who met all the special conditions for his first exit and was still punished for it. This is not only mean, it is absolutely counterproductive pedagogically! In an institution that is supposed to punish injustice, it must not happen that good will is punished!

How much longer can our society find such inhumane “educational measures” good?

In 60 years of hemp prohibition in Switzerland, repression has truly taken on bizarre features. Conclusion: Everything must become better again! The authorities don't want to talk about hemp? Good. Let's talk about (the sense and nonsense of) urine tests!

en/thc_recht/li580202.txt · Last modified: 2022/03/26 16:23 (external edit)
This page was translated automatically. Please report mistakes if you find any!

Share page: facebook Twitter

Legal Aid Brochure

Unfortunately, this brochure is only available in German.

Shit happens, 14th edition summer 2021


Shit happens 14
Order now

Verein Legalize it!

Hanf, Kiffen, THC und die Gesetze zur Verfolgung von Cannabis

Benutzer-Werkzeuge

Webseiten-Werkzeuge


thc_recht:li580202

Der Leidensweg von Bernard Rappaz, Teil 4

Wir bringen den vierten Teil von Ruths Chronologie über den Hungerstreik von Bernard Rappaz (BR) und den Aktivitäten rund um diese Affäre. Wer BR Fragen stellen möchte, kann uns gerne schreiben – wir werden diese weiterleiten.

26.06.11 Brief an Sandra: Gehe morgen nach Zürich, Mitgliederevent Legalize it! Bringe Teil 3, Der Leidensweg von Hanfbauer Barnard Rappaz.

26.06.11 Karte mit Hanfpflanze von BR: Guten Tag Ruth, danke vielmal für dein Paket. Kennst du internationale Petitionen? In Frankreich spricht man jetzt viel über die Legalisierung von Hanf. Eines Tages ist Hanf frei. Das ist klar. Die Frage ist: wann?

11.07.11 Brief an BR: Ja, es gibt internationalen Protest. Beilagen: Grow Magazin Juli/August 2011, Petition zur Beendigung des weltweiten Drogenkriegs. Und, im gleichen Heft: Global Marijuana March 2011. Hanf Journal Juni 2011: Der Hanftag ist gelaufen.

05.08.11 NZZ: Rappaz-Beschwerde gutgeheissen. BR muss die Kosten für seinen Hausarrest nicht selber bezahlen. Das Walliser Kantonsgericht hat seine Be­schwer­de gegen eine Rechnung über 44'000 Franken gutgeheissen, welche die Kantonsregierung ausgestellt hatte. Rappaz stand vom 21. Juli bis zum 26. August 2010 unter Hausarrest. Um ihn zu bewachen, musste Sicherheitspersonal eingesetzt werden, was unter anderem die hohen Kosten verursachte. Tages-Anzeiger: Affäre Rappaz – Rappaz muss Kosten für Hausarrest nicht bezahlen. Aargauerzeitung: Hausarrest – Keine Kosten für Walliser Hanfbauer.

17.08.11 Luzernerz., NZZ, Aargauerz., Reussbote: Sitten – Rappaz wieder im Hungerstreik. Er ist der Auffassung, er habe bereits jetzt und nicht erst im September Anrecht auf einen Urlaub von 24 Stunden, da er einen Drittel seiner Haftstrafe verbüsst habe. Streitpunkt sind die 37 Tage seines Hausarrestes während der Untersuchungshaft im Jahr 2006, welche die Strafvollzugsbehörden nicht anerkennen wollen.

29.08.11 Tel. von BR an Sandra. Es gibt: www.tapagoille.blogspot.com, mais c'est en français…

31.08.11 Tel. von Sandra, sie hat Post erhalten von BR: Am 18. August hat der Nationalrat die Zwangsernährung abgelehnt. 12.09.11 Tel. von Sandra. Hat Brief von BR bekommen. Seit dem 8. September ist der Hungerstreik vorbei. Er dauerte 26 Tage.

17.09.11 BR hätte seinen ersten Urlaub für 24 Stunden.

21.09.11 Tel. von Maggie: BR hatte keinen Urlaub. Am 14.9. gabs einen Urintest. Er war THC-positiv. Statt Urlaub bekam er fünf Tage «Cachot» – das ist eine Zelle im Keller.

29.09.11 Tel. an Sandra. Sie hat gestern einen sechsseitigen Brief von BR erhalten. Er habe Hanftee vom Coop getrunken. Der habe beim Urintest angegeben. Der Fall wird untersucht (siehe Seite drei rechts).

03.10.11 Brief an BR: Heute haben wir 60 Jahre Hanfverbot in der Schweiz. Das ist verrückt! Und noch ist es nicht vorbei!

04.10.11 Karte von BR. Salü Ruth, schon 60 Jahre!! Das ist ganz verrückt!

20.10.11 Tel. von Sandra. Sie hat Post von BR bekommen. Er hat am 22.10. einen 24-Stunden-Urlaub.

11.11.11 Tel. an Sandra. Ja, BR hatte seinen Urlaub. Es wurde für den Dok-Film gearbeitet. Auch ein Buch ist im Entstehen.

07.12.11 Päckli und Brief an BR: Salü Bernard, wie geht es Dir? Ich arbeite jeden Tag für die Hanfpolitik! Wir wollen eine Änderung!

27.12.11 Tel. von Sandra. BR hat sie über Weihnachten besucht.

29.12.11 Brief von BR, geschrieben am 26.12. Es geht gut, vielen Dank für dein Paket, super! Deine Arbeit für die Hanfpolitik ist sehr wunderbar. Auch ich arbeite immer für Hanf, mit meinem Buch und einem Dokumentar-Film, 120 Minuten. Nach 2013 präsentiere ich die zwei Projekte. 2012 ist es im Wallis möglich, vier Hanfpflanzen zu haben, ab 18 Jahre. Liebe Grüsse, Bernard.

Mit diesem vierten Teil schliessen wir unsere Serie ab.

Neues aus dem Knast

Am Wochenende vom 17./18. September 2011 hätte Bernard Rappaz, nach Absitzen des ersten Drittels seiner Haftstrafe, seinen ersten 24-Stunden-Ausgang gehabt. Vorher gab es allerdings noch schnell eine Urinprobe, die prompt «positiv» ausfiel.

Der Häftling beteuert, alle Auflagen eingehalten zu haben und demnach kiff-frei zu sein. Die Obrigkeiten sind zwar bereit, den legal verkäuflichen und genossenen Hanftee von Coop auf Spuren von THC untersuchen zu lassen, verfügen jedoch trotzdem fünf Tage Bunkerhaft statt «erster Ausgang».

Ich bin sicher, der THC-Gehalt besagter Teesäckchen ist nicht «übermässig», aber genau da liegt das Problem: Die hochempfindlichen (THC-Abbauspuren-im-)Urintests zeigen viel zu schnell ein «positives» Resultat an, was sehr bedenklich ist angesichts der drastischen Strafen, die auf eine «positive» UP folgen können! Eigentliche Fehlurteile zu Ungunsten der Verdächtigten sind so regelrecht vorprogrammiert.

Wenn diese Tests bei UPs also Gefahr laufen, falsche Ergebnisse anzuzeigen, wodurch Un-Schuldige, die nicht gekifft haben, als «Schuldige» entlarvt (und bestraft!) werden – und dies wohl öfter vorkommt, als Viele denken – sollten unsere Obrigkeiten die Einsicht haben, in Zukunft auf Urinproben zu eventuellem Cannabiskonsum zu verzichten. Finde ich.

Was den «Fall Rappaz» im Besonderen angeht: Abgesehen von der Demütigung einer UP und dem Risiko eines falschen Resultats, verstehe ich nicht, weshalb diese Kontrolle bei Bernard überhaupt «nötig» war. Er ist seit runden 40 Jahren Hanfaktivist, er geht gegen 60 Lenze zu, also kann auch «Jugendschutz» nicht das Thema sein. Die Obrigkeiten wissen selbst am besten, was ihr Häftling allein in den letzten zwei Jahren durchgemacht hat, und dass er auch wegen fünf Tagen Bunker dem Hanf niemals abschwören wird. Wozu also die ganze Schikane?

Bernard Rappaz ist ein mustergültiger Häftling (abgesehen von möglichen Hungerstreiks bei unfairen Entscheiden), der alle speziellen Auflagen für seinen ersten Ausgang erfüllt hat und trotzdem dafür bestraft wurde. Das ist nicht nur gemein, es ist auch pädagogisch absolut kontraproduktiv! In einer Institution, die Unrechtes bestrafen soll, darf es nicht passieren, dass der gute Wille bestraft wird!

Wie lange noch kann unsere Gesellschaft solch menschenverachtende «Erziehungsmassnahmen» gut finden?

In 60 Jahren Hanf-Prohibition in der Schweiz hat die Repression wahrlich bizarre Züge angenommen. Fazit: Es muss alles wieder besser werden! Die Obrigkeiten wollen nicht über Hanf reden? Gut. Reden wir über (Sinn und Unsinn von) Urinproben!

thc_recht/li580202.txt · Zuletzt geändert: 2013/05/16 20:44 von sos