Disclosure

Winter 2014/15: An exhausting year: Our club before the 25th anniversary.

That cost a lot of nerves: Never knowing when I was going to be laid off; only ever being able to plan for one month, rarely ever three. Yes, it was an exhausting year. But it has also made a lot possible and it has been extremely stimulating to let our association blossom again!

24 years ago we started

Our archives confirm it: In the winter of 1990/91, a handful of young people got together, drew up bylaws, opened a post office account, and then distributed many flyers for our founding celebration in October 1991. The first year…

2015 will now be the 25th year of life of Legalize it! We thought already at that time: The prohibition must go away, a legalization must come. We were then mainly concerned with the legal issues, the consequences of hemp prohibition. Because all attempts to contain the repression failed.

And now: While the state power in Switzerland is taking tougher action against THC from year to year, in the states of the USA one cannabis initiative after another finds a majority of the voters. So it does work: You can find majorities for hemp legalization, even in conservative milieus!

We will not be able to achieve legalization on our anniversary. But we can become a bit bigger and stronger. So that we don't have to wait until the 50th birthday until we can enforce an end to prohibition against hemp in Switzerland as well.

For this we need your help: your membership, your small or big donation, your regular or phased collaboration.

Sure, we had to beg for donations again and again, three or four times I saw no chance at all in 2014. But now I am a real Legalize it secretary again for 20 months - with office, time and infrastructure. It was a gamble to grow our association again and to increase the paid working hours from four to 24 a week. Or in money: To grow from 20'000 francs revenue in 2012 to now probably about 65'000 francs in 2014, in just under two years, that was a special piece of work.

With many wonders, stops and gos

Again and again a door opened, more membership fees came in, large donations were transferred, our acquisition efforts brought success. Sure, it is still a bit shaky in our new size. But we have been able to build up quite a bit in the last year and a half:

Our “blue folders” have been expanded, the 9th edition Shit happens has been brought to the people and we were able to write a first extension to it. We have continuously revised our www.hanflegal.ch - there is now a lot of new and prepared information in it!

Thanks to all who have made this possible

We were able to receive 21 large donations (500 francs and more) until November 2014, which brought in 25'100 francs. Equally important are the many hundreds of member contributions, rounded-up member contributions and donations. These also brought in about 25,000 francs. We see: We need every francs, both the 12.30 donation and the large donation of 2'500 francs.

I would also like to thank you personally. Without your support, without your trust in my work, my position as secretary of our association would not exist. I will continue to make an effort, to work, to keep at it. For this I hope for your support!

The status at present

So, we are back. I think I can say that at the end of 2014. We are available, planning, organizing, researching, writing, publishing, consulting, supervising, canvassing, printing, mailing, advertising - there is a lot going on. We want to continue and see chances (the international development, the opening of new layers for legalization discussions, the complete absurdity of the total ban) and risks (the board is short staffed with two people, also money-wise it will remain tight). Our budget, somewhat simplified, looks like this:

Revenue Expenditures
Membership fees 20'000 Wage incl. NK 52'000
Donations 10'000 Rent 6'000
Large donations 30'000 Phone/Internet 1'000
Advertising 4'000 Office expenses 2'500
Miscellaneous 1'500 Shipping costs 3'000
Miscellaneous 1'000
Total 65'500 Total 65'500

Almost all items are well secured according to experience, especially the expenses can be budgeted fix. Membership fees and donations should be reasonably budgeted according to all experience. The item large donations is particularly open. Of the required large donations, 3,000 have been provisionally pledged, i.e. 10%. So a start has been made. It is possible. Alternatively, we will of course continue to try to find more members, to sell more advertising, to tap other sources of funds: just to pull out all the stops that are possible.

Rolling financial planning

We have a spreadsheet that shows us exactly how much we need to spend to meet our obligations (office, salary, other bills) and how much we can expect in income. Beforehand, if it is financially possible, we postpone the termination dates (thus extending the office and secretarial position) by one, two or six months. This gives us a tool that tells us very precisely what is possible and what is not.

The first two months of 2015 are secured

Concretely: Currently my termination date is the end of February 2015, for the office the end of March 2015 (salary and rent are the two largest expense items). With the large donation appeal, we would now like to further postpone these deadlines (and with large donations of more than 30,000 francs we will certainly get through until the end of 2015).

The rest of the year we still have to generate

Fundraising will therefore continue to be a very important issue in 2015. But ultimately, of course, it serves our projects, which only became, are and will be possible thanks to the larger funds. For 2015, we see the priorities as we present them on the next page.

2015 is to be the 25th year of our association. I hope it will be another great vintage - and maybe the starting signal for the Swiss hemp legalization?

Last modified: 2023/12/22 21:16

Share page: facebook X (Twitter)

Factsheet Association:

Factsheet Association Legalize it!


Board of Directors

Hanf, Kiffen, THC und die Gesetze zur Verfolgung von Cannabis
 
Weitergabe

Winter 2014/15: Ein anstrengendes Jahr: Unser Verein vor dem 25.

Das hat Nerven gekostet: Nie wissen, wann mir gekündigt wird; immer nur auf einen Monat, selten mal drei planen zu können. Ja, es war ein anstrengendes Jahr. Aber es hat auch viel ermöglicht und es war äusserst anregend, unseren Verein wieder aufblühen zu lassen!

Vor 24 Jahren haben wir begonnen

Unser Archiv bestätigt es: Im Winter 1990/91 haben sich eine Handvoll junger Menschen zusammengeschlossen, Statuten aufgesetzt, ein Postkonto eröffnet und dann viele Flyer für unser Gründungsfest im Oktober 1991 verteilt. Das erste Jahr…

2015 wird nun das 25. Lebensjahr des Legalize it!

Wir fanden schon damals: Das Verbot muss weg, eine Legalisierung muss her. Beschäftigt haben uns dann vor allem die rechtlichen Fragen, die Folgen der Hanfprohibition. Denn alle Versuche, die Repression einzudämmen, scheiterten.

Und nun: Während die Staatsmacht in der Schweiz von Jahr zu Jahr härter gegen THC vorgeht, findet in den Bundesstaaten der USA eine Cannabis-Initiative nach der anderen eine Mehrheit der Abstimmenden. Es geht also doch: Man kann Mehrheiten für eine Hanflegalisierung finden, sogar in konservativen Milieus!

Eine Legalisierung werden wir zum runden Geburtstag nicht hinbekommen. Aber wir können ein weiteres Stück grösser und stärker werden. Damit wir nicht bis zum 50. Geburtstag warten müssen, bis wir ein Ende der Prohibition gegen Hanf auch in der Schweiz durchsetzen können.

Dafür benötigen wir deine Hilfe: Deine Mitgliedschaft, deine kleine oder grosse Spende, deine regelmässige oder phasenweise Mitarbeit.

Klar, wir mussten immer wieder um Spenden betteln, drei oder vier Mal sah ich im 2014 überhaupt keine Chance mehr. Doch nun bin ich seit 20 Monaten wieder richtiger Legalize it!-Sekretär – mit Büro, Zeit und Infrastruktur. Es war ein Wagnis, unseren Verein wieder zu vergrössern und die bezahlten Arbeitsstunden von vier auf 24 in der Woche zu erhöhen. Oder in Geld: Von 20’000 Franken Umsatz im 2012 zu nun wohl etwa 65’000 Franken im 2014 zu wachsen, in knapp zwei Jahren, das war schon ein spezielles Stück Arbeit.

Mit vielen Wundern, Stops and Gos

Immer wieder ging eine Tür auf, kamen mehr Mitgliederbeiträge herein, wurden Grossspenden überwiesen, brachten unsere Akquianstrengungen Erfolg. Klar, es ist noch etwas wackelig in unserer neuen Grösse. Aber wir konnten in den letzten anderthalb Jahren einiges aufbauen:

Unsere «blauen Ordner» sind erweitert, die 9. Auflage Shit happens ist unter die Leute gebracht und wir konnten eine erste Erweiterung dazu schreiben. Unser www.hanflegal.ch haben wir laufend überarbeitet – da stecken nun viele neue und aufbereitete Informationen drin!

Dank an alle, die das ermöglicht haben

Wir durften 21 Grossspenden (500 Franken und mehr) bis November 2014 entgegennehmen, die 25’100 Franken einbrachten. Genauso wichtig sind die vielen hundert Mitgliederbeiträge, aufgerundeten Mitgliederbeiträge und Spenden. Diese brachten ebenfalls rund 25’000 Franken ein. Wir sehen: Wir brauchen jeden Franken, sowohl die 12.30-Spende wie auch die Grossspende über 2’500 Franken.

Auch ich persönlich möchte mich bedanken. Ohne eure Unterstützung, ohne euer Vertrauen in meine Arbeit gäbe es meine Stelle als Sekretär unseres Vereins nicht. Ich werde mich weiterhin anstrengen, arbeiten, dranbleiben. Dafür hoffe ich auf deine Unterstützung!

Der Stand zurzeit

Also, wir sind wieder da. Das glaube ich Ende 2014 sagen zu dürfen. Wir sind erreichbar, planen, organisieren, recherchieren, schreiben, publizieren, beraten, betreuen, akquirieren, drucken, versenden, werben – es läuft viel. Wir wollen weitermachen und sehen dafür Chancen (die internationale Entwicklung, die Öffnung neuer Schichten für Legalisierungsdiskussionen, die völlige Absurdität des Totalverbotes) und Risiken (der Vorstand ist mit zwei Personen knapp besetzt, auch geldmässig wird es knapp bleiben). Unser Budget sieht, etwas vereinfacht, so aus:

Einnahmen Ausgaben
Mitgliederbeiträge 20'000 Lohn inkl. NK 52'000
Spenden 10'000 Miete 6'000
Grossspenden 30'000 Telefon/Internet 1'000
Werbung 4'000 Bürounkosten 2'500
Diverses 1'500 Versandkosten 3'000
Diverses 1'000
Total 65'500 Total 65'500

Fast alle Posten sind erfahrungsmässig gut abgesichert, vor allem die Ausgaben sind fix budgetierbar. Die Mitgliederbeiträge und Spenden dürften nach aller Erfahrung sinnvoll budgetiert sein. Offen ist vor allem der Posten Grossspenden. Von den benötigten Grossspenden sind zurzeit 3’000 provisorisch zugesagt, also 10%. Damit ist doch ein Anfang gemacht. Möglich ist es. Alternativ versuchen wir natürlich weiterhin, mehr Mitglieder zu finden, mehr Werbung zu verkaufen, andere Geldquellen zu erschliessen: halt alle Register zu ziehen, die möglich sind.

Rollende Finanzplanung

Wir haben eine Tabelle, die uns genau aufzeigt, wie viel wir ausgeben müssen, um unsere Verpflichtungen (Büro, Lohn, sons­tige Rechnungen) wahrnehmen zu können und wie viel wir an Einnahmen zu erwarten haben. Vorzu verschieben wir, wenn es finanziell möglich ist, die Kündigungstermine (und verlängern so Büro und Sekretariatsstelle) um einen, zwei oder sechs Monate. Damit haben wir ein Instrument zur Hand, das uns sehr genau sagt, was möglich ist und was nicht.

Die ersten beiden Monate 2015 sind gesichert

Konkret: Zurzeit liegt mein Kündigungstermin bei Ende Februar 2015, für das Büro bei Ende März 2015 (Lohn und Miete sind die beiden grössten Ausgabenposten). Mit dem Grossspendenaufruf möchten wir nun diese Deadlines weiter verschieben (und mit Grossspenden über 30’000 Franken kommen wir sicher bis Ende 2015 durch).

Den Rest des Jahres müssen wir noch erwirtschaften

Die Geldbeschaffung wird also auch 2015 ein sehr wichtiges Thema sein. Letztlich dient sie aber natürlich unseren Projekten, die erst durch die grösseren Mittel möglich wurden, möglich sind und sein werden. Für 2015 sehen wir die Schwerpunkte, wie wir sie auf der nächsten Seite präsentieren.

2015 soll das 25. Jahr unseres Vereins werden. Ich hoffe, es wird wieder ein grosser Jahrgang – und vielleicht der Startschuss zur Schweizer Hanflegalisierung?

verein_li/li680202.txt · Zuletzt geändert: 2018/09/20 11:24 (Externe Bearbeitung)
 
Falls nicht anders bezeichnet, ist der Inhalt dieses Wikis unter der folgenden Lizenz veröffentlicht: CC Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported
Recent changes RSS feed Donate Powered by PHP Valid XHTML 1.0 Valid CSS Driven by DokuWiki