li182123.jpg

Heroin delivery before hemp legalization

At a lecture in February, Felix Gutzwiller, a preventive physician and member of the National Council, explained his assessment of the status of the narcotics law revision in Switzerland. An interesting lecture with a clear overview of the political problems in the revision of the Narcotics Law.

Lecture at the Institute for Addiction Research

The Institute for Addiction Research in Zurich organizes an event every month on prevention and treatment services in the field of addiction as part of the ISF Forum. It aims to bring together practice and research and to inform about trends in the field of addiction. At the beginning of 2000, the ISF had asked Felix Gutzwiller, a well-known bourgeois member of the National Council and professor of preventive medicine, to report on the revision of the Narcotics Law on February 6, 2001. At that time, it was still assumed that the Federal Council's message would certainly be available by the beginning of February, so that it could be informed and discussed at this lecture. But like so much in the history of the narcotics law revision, this deadline was not met. Nevertheless, the lecture took place - but the speaker would have preferred to discuss this next step concretely, rather than speculating about it rather vaguely. (We also discuss the message itself in this issue starting on page 35).

Everybody wants to know

Before the presentation, the expert on the revision of the Narcotics Law was asked by various interested parties what the status of the Federal Council's message was and - above all - what it would and would not contain. Gutzwiller was unable to resolve this tension. Instead, he gave an interesting lecture with two focal points. On the one hand, his topic was the technical side of law revision: What has to happen in which order for an amended law to come into force? Secondly, he outlined the possible contents of the revision and pointed out the problems associated with these contents, which set the framework for the political discussion in parliament as well.

About the revision process

So everyone was waiting anxiously for the message of the Federal Council, which has been published in the meantime. According to this message, the first council has to be determined. Switzerland has a bicameral parliament (National Council and Council of States) and every business is first discussed in one council and then referred to the second council. Before the actual discussion in the first council, its commission deliberates on the Federal Council's message (during June, the commission of the Council of States probably started these deliberations). When the discussions in the First Council are completed (this should happen in the course of 2001), the business will be brought to the Commission of the Second Council and then dealt with by the Second Council itself (this could happen in 2002). There may be two delays in this area. On the one hand, the commissions may still decide to hold further hearings or have additional reports prepared by experts. On the other hand, differences may arise between the two councils during the deliberations, which will then have to be settled. Once the councils have reached agreement and passed the federal decree, a referendum can be lodged against it. It is almost certain that this will happen: there are enough die-hards who will fight even the most minimal improvements on principle. These forces are also strong enough to collect the necessary 50,000 signatures within 90 days, so that the referendum comes about. Finally, the amended narcotics law must be approved in a referendum (which is expected to be in 2003) and then be enacted (around 2004). However, if it fails in the referendum, the whole discussion would be set back by years: Apart from a pile of broken pieces, nothing would have been achieved. So much for the technical procedure. Now to the possible contents of the revision.

Tobacco and alcohol cannot be defined as addictive substances

At the beginning of the discussions about a revision, the idea was not simply to carry out a narcotics law revision, but to create a general narcotics law. Alcoholic beverages and tobacco products would then also have been included. Not in the sense that they would have been banned as well. They would have remained legal, but they would also have been listed as addictive substances. However, the innkeepers and other well-organized circles mobilized massively against this, so that this part fell silently under the table. Although especially preventive medicine knows that legal drugs are a much bigger problem for the health of the population than illegal drugs. But in terms of realpolitik, it is impossible to push through a law against the resistance of the landlords and the tobacco companies.

Heroin levy to be anchored

The first issue remaining for the revision of the law is the definitive anchoring of heroin dispensing for severely addicted fixers. Until now, this very successful form of treatment has been based on an urgent federal decree that expires in 2004. Many preventive physicians and those working in addiction support want this form of treatment to be definitively anchored in the law. If this does not succeed, the heroin program would have to be terminated at the end of 2004 and many fixers would be back on the street - with all the negative consequences (procurement crime, spread of HIV and hepatitis). So there is a lot of pressure to deal with this issue.

No longer punish consumption

The second issue is the exemption from punishment for consumption. Either for all narcotics, or only for hashish and weed. In principle many see that the punishment of the consumption brings nothing, but the reservations straight against the punishment exemption of the heroin and cocaine consumption are nevertheless still quite large. Exempting smoking pot from punishment, on the other hand, should find a majority among the population, according to Gutzwiller's assessment. For preventive medical reasons, a ban on consumption on public property would be desirable. How far the preparatory acts could then also be exempted from punishment (possession of 5 grams?, possession of 10 grams?, how many balcony plants are okay?, etc.), that remains open and will still trigger some interesting discussions.

Tolerate hemp trade?

Finally, the third topic is the new handling of commercial cultivation and sale. This is certainly the most controversial chapter. The proposed opportunity principle is nowhere integrated in Swiss legislation, unlike in Holland, and there are still many people against making money from the sale of hash and weed. Of course completely hypocritical, considering how much money is made with the legal drugs alcohol and tobacco. And these cannot even be defined as addictive substances for political reasons, because otherwise the landlords would threaten with a referendum.

Beautiful models and realpolitik

For Gutzwiller, it is problematic that the last vote on controlled heroin distribution resulted in an acceptance, but with only 55 percent yes votes. Even if it can be assumed that the first issue mentioned above, namely heroin distribution, would be accepted again, it is questionable how many other issues can be combined in a voting proposal so that there is still an acceptance. And it is clear to him that it does not bear much more additional: perhaps the exemption from punishment of cannabis use, that could be in.

A template or step by step?

He could also imagine a division of the various issues. After all, it would be a rather strange vote if there were a joint bill for the controlled release of heroin and the exemption from punishment of the consumption of cannabis products. Two issues that actually don't have much to do with each other (except that both substances are in the same total prohibition category). A staging or parallel treatment seems to be possible to Gutzwiller, he will probably push for it in the National Council. As a preventive physician, it is clearly important to him to anchor heroin distribution. For him, there is a need for action there, and he wants to make a difference. On the subject of hemp, he certainly tends to be on our side, but I already sensed that this subject is not very close to his heart. For him, smoking pot is primarily a harmful behavior (smoking) and he certainly does not consider it desirable that people smoke pot. There is also simply no pressure for him to move forward with this issue (there is no threat of HIV and hepatitis epidemics from people smoking pot, there is no threat of open drug scenes, people smoking pot are not perceived by him as a powerful force, such as the Restaurant Owners Association). He is certainly in favor of legalizing consumption, but this does not have the same importance for him as the definitive anchoring of heroin distribution.

Desirable and feasible

Gutzwiller also made a clear distinction between two levels: On the one hand, one can discuss what would be just, logical, beautiful models of a new way of dealing with psychoactive substances. On the other hand, one must ask oneself the question: How do we get what to the point where it is approved in a referendum in the next few months? These are effectively two different considerations. Beautiful concepts may be beautiful and also morally convincing, perhaps even just. But political enforceability does not necessarily have anything to do with it. Only proposals that reach a majority are enforceable. This will be the exciting process of the coming months: Who will bring together which majorities for which issues in parliament and among the population?

Last modified: 2023/12/22 21:16

Share page: facebook X (Twitter)

Legal overview

Shit happens 15 (Summer 2023)

This overview as PDF

Hanf, Kiffen, THC und die Gesetze zur Verfolgung von Cannabis
 

Heroinabgabe vor Hanflegalisierung

An einem Vortrag im Februar erläuterte der Präventivmediziner und Nationalrat Felix Gutzwiller seine Einschätzung zum Stand der Betäubungsmittelgesetz-Revision in der Schweiz. Ein interessanter Vortrag mit einer übersichtlichen Auslegeordnung der politischen Probleme in der Betäubungsmittelgesetz-Revision.

Vortrag am Institut für Suchtforschung

Das Institut für Suchtforschung in Zürich organisiert im Rahmen des ISF-Forums jeden Monat eine Veranstaltung über Präventions- und Behandlungsangebote im Suchtbereich. Es möchte Praxis und Forschung zusammenbringen und über Trends im Suchtbereich informieren. Das ISF hatte Felix Gutzwiller, einen bekannten bürgerlichen Nationalrat und Professor für Präventivmedizin, Anfang 2000 angefragt, am 6. Februar 2001 über die Betäubungsmittelgesetz-Revision zu berichten. Damals ging man noch davon aus, dass die Botschaft des Bundesrates sicher bis Anfang Februar vorliegen würde, so dass an diesem Vortrag darüber informiert und diskutiert werden könnte. Doch wie so vieles in der Geschichte der Betäubungsmittelgesetz-Revision wurde auch dieser Termin nicht eingehalten. Trotzdem fand der Vortrag statt – allerdings hätte der Referent lieber konkret über diesen nächsten Schritt diskutiert, als eher vage über diesen spekulieren zu müssen. (Die Botschaft selber besprechen wir ebenfalls in dieser Nummer ab Seite 35).

Alle wollens wissen

Vor dem Vortrag wurde der Experte in Sachen Betäubungsmittelgesetz-Revision denn auch von verschiedenen Interessierten gefragt, wie es denn nun aussieht, wo diese Botschaft des Bundesrates steht und – vor allem – was denn nun drinstehen würde und was nicht. Diese Spannung konnte auch Gutzwiller nicht auflösen. Er hielt statt dessen einen interessanten Vortrag mit zwei Schwerpunkten. Einerseits war sein Thema die technische Seite der Gesetzesrevision: Was muss in welcher Reihenfolge passieren, damit ein geändertes Gesetz in Kraft treten kann? Zum zweiten legte er die möglichen Inhalte der Revision dar und zeigte die Probleme auf, die mit diesen Inhalten verbunden sind und die den Rahmen vorgeben für die politische Diskussion auch im Parlament.

Zum Ablauf der Revision

Alle warteten also gespannt auf die Botschaft des Bundesrates, die ja unterdessen veröffentlicht wurde. Nach dieser Botschaft muss der Erstrat festgelegt werden. Die Schweiz hat ein Zweikammerparlament (National- und Ständerat) und jedes Geschäft wird zuerst im einen Rat behandelt und dann an den Zweitrat überwiesen. Vor der eigentlichen Diskussion im Erstrat berät dessen Kommission über die bundesrätliche Botschaft (im Verlaufe des Junis hat die Kommission des Ständerates wahrscheinlich diese Beratungen aufgenommen). Wenn die Diskussionen im Erstrat abgeschlossen sind (das sollte im Verlaufe 2001 geschehen), wird das Geschäft in die Kommission des Zweitrates gebracht und anschliessend vom Zweitrat selber behandelt (das könnte 2002 über die Bühne gehen). In diesem Bereich kann es zwei Verzögerungen geben. Einerseits können die Kommissionen noch beschliessen, weitere Hearings durchzuführen oder zusätzliche Berichte durch Experten erstellen zu lassen. Andererseits können in den Beratungen Differenzen zwischen den beiden Räten entstehen, die dann noch bereinigt werden müssen. Wenn sich die Räte geeinigt und den Bundesbeschluss verabschiedet haben, kann dagegen das Referendum ergriffen werden. Dass dies geschieht gilt als so gut wie sicher: Es gibt genug Ewiggestrige, die auch minimalste Verbesserungen grundsätzlich bekämpfen werden. Diese Kräfte sind auch stark genug, die nötigen 50’000 Unterschriften innert 90 Tagen zu sammeln, damit das Referendum zu Stande kommt. Schliesslich muss das geänderte Betäubungsmittel-Gesetz in einer Volksabstimmung angenommen werden (das dürfte 2003 werden), um dann anschliessend in Kraft gesetzt zu werden (rund 2004). Sollte es jedoch in der Abstimmung durchfallen, würde das die ganzen Diskussionen um Jahre zurückwerfen: Ausser einem Scherbenhaufen wäre dann nichts erreicht worden. Soweit zum technischen Ablauf. Jetzt zu möglichen Inhalten der Revision.

Tabak und Alkohol können nicht als Suchtmittel definiert werden

Am Anfang der Diskussionen über eine Revision war die Idee, nicht einfach eine Betäubungsmittelgesetz-Revision durchzuführen, sondern ein allgemeines Suchtmittel-Gesetz zu schaffen. Darin wären dann auch Alkoholika und Tabakprodukte eingebunden gewesen. Nicht in dem Sinne, dass diese auch verboten worden wären. Sie wären weiterhin legal geblieben, aber sie wären auch als Suchtmittel aufgeführt worden. Dagegen machten jedoch die Wirte und weitere gut organisierte Kreise massiv mobil, so dass dieser Teil sang- und klanglos unter den Tisch fiel. Obwohl gerade die Präventivmedizin weiss, dass die legalen Drogen für die Gesundheit der Bevölkerung das viel grössere Problem darstellen als die illegalisierten Drogen. Aber realpolitisch ist es unmöglich, ein Gesetz gegen den Widerstand der Wirte und der Tabakkonzerne durchzubringen.

Die Heroin-Abgabe soll verankert werden

Übrig bleibt als erstes Thema für die Gesetzes-Revision die definitive Verankerung der Heroin-Abgabe für schwer süchtige FixerInnen. Bis jetzt basiert diese sehr erfolgreiche Behandlungsform auf einem dringlichen Bundesbeschluss, der 2004 ausläuft. Viele Präventivmediziner und in der Suchthilfe Tätige wollen unbedingt, dass diese Behandlungsform definitiv im Gesetz verankert wird. Falls das nicht gelingt, müsste das Heroin-Programm Ende 2004 beendigt werden und viele FixerInnen wären wieder auf der Gasse – mit all den nachteiligen Folgen (Beschaffungskriminalität, Ausbreitung von HIV und Hepatitis). Da besteht also ein grosser Druck, dieses Thema zu behandeln.

Konsum nicht mehr bestrafen

Als zweites Thema kommt dann die Strafbefreiung des Konsums. Entweder für alle Betäubungsmittel, oder auch nur für Haschisch und Gras. Grundsätzlich sehen viele, dass die Bestrafung des Konsums nichts bringt, aber die Vorbehalte gerade gegen die Strafbefreiung des Heroin- und Kokain-Konsums sind doch noch recht gross. Die Strafbefreiung des Kiffens hingegen sollte nach Gutzwillers Einschätzung eine Mehrheit in der Bevölkerung finden. Aus präventivmedizinischen Überlegungen wäre ein Verbot des Konsums auf öffentlichem Grund erwünscht. Wie weit dann auch die Vorbereitungshandlungen straffrei werden könnten (Besitz von 5 Gramm?, Besitz von 10 Gramm?, wieviele Balkonpflanzen sind ok?, usw.), das bleibt offen und wird noch einige interessante Diskussionen auslösen.

Hanfhandel tolerieren?

Als drittes Thema schliesslich steht noch eine neue Handhabung von gewerbsmässigem Anbau und Verkauf an. Dies ist sicher das umstrittenste Kapitel. Das vorgeschlagene Opportunitätsprinzip ist in der Schweizer Gesetzgebung im Gegensatz zu Holland nirgends integriert, und es sind nach wie vor viele Leute dagegen, dass mit dem Verkauf von Hasch und Gras Geld verdient wird. Natürlich völlig heuchlerisch, wenn man bedenkt, wie viel Geld mit den legalen Drogen Alkohol und Tabak verdient wird. Und diese können aus politischen Gründen nicht einmal als Suchtmittel definiert werden, weil sonst die Wirte mit dem Referendum drohen.

Schöne Modelle und Realpolitik

Problematisch ist für Gutzwiller, dass bei der letzten Abstimmung über die kontrollierte Heroinabgabe zwar eine Annahme resultierte, dies jedoch mit lediglich 55 Prozent Ja-Stimmen. Auch wenn man davon ausgehen kann, dass das oben erwähnte erste Thema, eben die Heroinabgabe, wieder angenommen würde, so ist es doch fraglich, wie viele weitere Themen in einer Abstimmungs-Vorlage zusammengefasst werden können, so dass immer noch eine Annahme erfolgt. Und es ist für ihn klar, dass es nicht mehr viel zusätzliches verträgt: Vielleicht die Strafbefreiung des Cannabis-Konsums, das könnte drinliegen.

Eine Vorlage oder Schritt um Schritt?

Er könnte sich auch eine Aufteilung der verschiedenen Fragen vorstellen. Es wäre ja auch eine reichlich merkwürdige Abstimmung, wenn es eine gemeinsame Vorlage geben würde für die kontrollierte Heroinabgabe und die Strafbefreiung des Konsums von Cannabis-Produkten. Zwei Themen, die eigentlich nicht viel miteinander zu tun haben (ausser dass beide Stoffe in derselben Totalverbotskategorie vorkommen). Eine Etappierung oder eine parallele Behandlung scheint Gutzwiller möglich zu sein, er wird sich wahrscheinlich dafür im Nationalrat stark machen. Wichtig ist ihm als Präventivmediziner klar die Verankerung der Heroinabgabe. Dort besteht für ihn Handlungsbedarf, dort will er etwas bewirken. Beim Thema Hanf steht er sicher tendenziell auf unserer Seite, aber ich meinte schon zu spüren, dass ihm dieses Thema nicht sehr am Herzen liegt. Kiffen ist für ihn primär ein gesundheitsschädliches Verhalten (Rauchen) und er hält es sicher nicht für wünschenswert, dass Menschen kiffen. Es besteht für ihn auch schlicht kein Druck, mit diesem Thema vorwärts zu machen (es drohen keine HIV- und Hepatitis-Epidemien durch die Kiffenden, es drohen keine offenen Drogenszenen, die Kiffenden werden von ihm nicht als eine mächtige Kraft wahrgenommen, wie etwa die Vereinigung der Restaurant-Besitzer). Er ist sicher für eine Legalisierung des Konsums, aber dies hat für ihn nicht den gleichen Stellenwert wie die definitive Verankerung der Heroinabgabe.

Wünschenswertes und Machbares

Gutzwiller unterschied auch klar zwei Ebenen voneinander: Einerseits kann man darüber diskutieren, was wären gerechte, logische, schöne Modelle eines neuen Umganges mit psychoaktiven Stoffen. Andrerseits muss man sich die Frage stellen: Wie bringen wir was in den nächsten Monaten soweit, dass es in einer Volksabstimmung gutgeheissen wird? Dies sind effektiv zwei verschiedene Überlegungen. Schöne Konzepte sind vielleicht schön und auch moralisch überzeugend, vielleicht sogar gerecht. Aber politische Durchsetzbarkeit hat damit nicht unbedingt etwas zu tun. Durchsetzbar sind nur Vorlagen, die eben auch eine Mehrheit erreichen. Dies wird der spannende Prozess der nächsten Monate sein: Wer bringt welche Mehrheiten für welche Anliegen im Parlament und in der Bevölkerung zusammen?

thc_recht/li182123.txt · Zuletzt geändert: 2011/09/11 10:42 (Externe Bearbeitung)
 
Falls nicht anders bezeichnet, ist der Inhalt dieses Wikis unter der folgenden Lizenz veröffentlicht: CC Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported
Recent changes RSS feed Donate Powered by PHP Valid XHTML 1.0 Valid CSS Driven by DokuWiki