Strongly illegal: Driving with THC in the blood

Conditions

A single number from a measuring device decides whether someone has committed an offence, even if nothing else has happened and even if no abnormalities are found in the medical examination: in other words, the suspect is almost certainly fit to drive.

Tips

Difficult subject! Actually, you have to decide: either smoke pot or drive a car. And we don't mean abstain for one night and then hope it will be okay. No, it's either drive and never smoke pot or smoke pot and never drive. Everything else is very risky.

Penalties

The penalty is high because it's a misdemeanor. Misdemeanor is a misdemeanour. There is a fine, plus fees and investigation costs (together quickly over 2,000 francs), plus a criminal record entry, withdrawal of the “ticket” for at least three months and clarification of the fitness to drive by the road traffic office.


fourtwenty.ch


Strongly illegal: Driving with THC in the blood

Specific examination or blood work?

In the past, a doctor had to carry out a specific examination to check whether or not a motorist was fit to drive. But since the introduction of zero tolerance in 2005, the detection of THC in the blood is sufficient to prove driving incapacity.

The regulation states that “Tetrahydrocannabinol (cannabis)” can be detected in the blood and cause impaired driving. This constitutes a misdemeanour (highly illegal) and is punished accordingly. In addition, there is a temporary withdrawal of identification and then the procedure at the traffic office.

Detection in the blood

If the blood is examined using forensic methods, the amount of THC present in it can be determined. It is indicated in nanograms per millilitre of blood (ng/ml) or micrograms per litre of blood (µg/l). (Similar with alcohol: the alcohol per mille content can be determined in the blood). But what does the active substance content in the blood tell us? Can these values be used to determine whether a person is actually stoned or alcoholic? In the case of alcohol, the legislator says yes and means that more than 0.5 per mille is not permissible for driving a vehicle. Conversely, this means that someone with 0.4 per mille alcohol may drive a car.

In the case of illicit drugs, however, the limit is supposed to be zero, or the limit of what the measuring device can just measure (about one microgram per litre). With the ordinance introduced in 2005, the presence of an extremely small amount of THC in the blood is therefore sufficient to establish the inability to drive: the detection limit is 1.5 µg/l. The average value of THC in the blood is then reduced by 30 %. A 30 % deduction is made from the average THC value measured. A measured blood value of 2.2 is then sufficient for the detection of THC in the blood and thus the inability to drive is proven, even if no abnormalities can be detected in the driver.

This is an extremely low value that has nothing to do with a concrete stoned state / impairment. Because shortly after consumption, values of dozens to over 100 micrograms per liter of blood can be measured.

How long after consumption does the THC level in the blood remain above 1.5 µg/l?

This varies greatly from individual to individual and according to the amount consumed. Someone who only “smokes one” every few weeks may be below this value after six hours. But those who consume daily may always have a higher value. This would only fall below 1.5 after several days of abstinence.

What does this mean for THC users?

A person who occasionally smokes pot should not have smoked pot for at least six hours before driving. The one who smokes pot regularly, on the other hand, is never considered fit to drive, unless he / she would skip three days of smoking pot before driving. Here we can clearly see that zero tolerance goes far beyond the goal of removing only those who are unfit to drive. It makes legal driving impossible for people who regularly consume THC, even if they always put a night between consumption and driving!

Traffic stop

Occasions for police traffic stops:

  • a real error in driving a motor vehicle (e.g. crossing a safety line, driving too fast, a defective light or being involved in an accident)
  • driving slowly, e.g. because someone is unfamiliar with the location
  • a large-scale traffic control without specific reason
  • Targeted search for people who have previously come to attention with cannabis.

Once a police check is underway, the smell of cannabis, reddened eyes or an entry for cannabis in the police database or criminal record can lead to further investigations: Search of the car, the driver, the passenger……

A rapid drug test may actually only be carried out if there is a concrete suspicion of impaired driving ability: smoking pot behind the wheel, red eyes, unsafe driving, unclear pronunciation, carrying cannabis, etc. In fact, however, the police have enormous leeway here.

Some police forces still carry out rapid tests, which normally detect THC-COOH in saliva or urine. If such a test is positive, a medical examination and a THC blood test in hospital can be ordered. This is because THC-COOH is not legally relevant for driving under the influence of drugs. The only thing that counts here is the THC level in the blood.

Other police forces have introduced new test procedures that do not require the (inaccurate) rapid drug tests. The driver is questioned by the police in a standardised way for three minutes and, on the basis of the answers and visible elements (salivation, eye behaviour, etc.), they decide whether they want to take the person to hospital for more detailed clarification. If they want to do so, the police must:

  • question the suspects and draw up a protocol
  • chauffeur her to the hospital for the blood test.
  • suspend a driver's licence
  • report the suspects to the public prosecutor's office
  • Report to the Road Traffic Office.

Medical examination in hospital

In hospital, the persons concerned are examined by a doctor and the result is recorded. However, this concrete examination is of little value in the case of drug use. Even if the result (as is very often the case) is “no abnormalities” this is of no use to the person concerned: only the result of the blood test is decisive. (If the medical examination finds abnormalities, however, there may be further problems). It can take weeks or months for the blood to be tested. The driver's licence remains confiscated or is returned with reservations.

Three substances are measured in the blood:

  1. THC (tetrahydrocannabinol)
  2. OH-THC (hydroxy-THC)
  3. THC-COOH (THC carboxylic acid)

The THC value is decisive for the concrete driving ability. OH-THC is not relevant (so far). The THC-COOH value is relevant for the general fitness to drive, it gives information about the consumed amount.

All three substances are measured in micrograms per liter of blood (µg/l). High values are for example 23-7-210, low 2-1-30.

Charge sheet

The police report, the results of the medical examination and the results of the blood test are sent to the public prosecutor's office. The public prosecutor's office then issues a penalty order on the basis of these results. There are two different variants:

The THC level in the blood is under 1.5 micrograms per liter of blood (or 2.2 incl. safety margin):
⇒ Penalty order for consumption

THC is detected in the blood, but below the amount relevant for traffic law. Nevertheless, this proves illegal THC consumption and this is therefore punished (fine).

The costs of the investigation (over 1,000 francs) are charged to the accused, so that the bill comes to over 2,000 francs.

Although this is only permissible if a concrete suspicion has been provided, there is a tendency to simply try to impose the costs on those affected.

⇒ The THC level in the blood is at least 1.5 micrograms per liter of blood (or 2.2 incl. safety margin):
⇒ Penalty order for driving under the influence of drugs

Here, the illegal THC consumption is only the smaller part of the punishment (violation), really illegal is the driving under drugs (misdemeanor). This is legally proven with such a value.

Now, in addition to a fine for consumption, there is also a fine (10 to 40 daily rates) for driving under the influence of drugs, and the costs of the hospital must also be paid. The driver's license is revoked for three months. There is an entry in the criminal record, so you have a criminal record.

Police check on non-car drivers

A classic case is THC use outside, where someone is caught by the police and confesses to daily use in the interview, for example.

A hefty party or a loud argument at home can lead to the police stopping by and so seeing pot paraphernalia. Then a protocol is taken and also asked about the frequency of consumption.

Or a cyclist or pedestrian is involved in an accident, for example at a pedestrian crossing. In such cases, blood samples are taken from all those involved and questioning is also carried out.

Depending on the incident, the police report the person concerned for consumption, disturbance of the peace, etc. and file a report with the Road Traffic Office, even if the incident had nothing to do with motorised road traffic.

Measures taken by the Road Traffic Office

If the Road Traffic Authority is informed for any reason (e.g. by the police) that a person with a driving licence has used THC, it checks whether the person's cannabis use poses a risk to road traffic. If the answer is in the affirmative (e.g. because the person concerned has been found to use cannabis at the wheel or to use it regularly), a precautionary suspension may be imposed, i.e. the driver's licence may be withdrawn for an indefinite period.

⇒ If it is only a confessed consumption of one or two times per week and this is in no way connected with road traffic, the STVA will normally not take any action. The same applies if the THC-COOH content is below 40 µg/l (if the result of a blood test is available). The matter is then closed (but remains on file).

⇒ If THC of 1.5 µg/l or more has been legally detected at the wheel, a fitness to drive assessment will be initiated. Likewise, if the THC is below 1.5, but consumption of more than twice a week is reported and also if the THC-COOH value is above 40. Carrying cannabis also raises doubts about fitness to drive (no separation of consumption and road traffic). This all then runs under “suspicion of drug addiction”.

Traffic medical report

A urine test, blood test and traffic medical report (costs over 1,500 francs) should clarify whether drug addiction is present. The expert opinion then recommends whether the person examined can be granted fitness to drive and whether there should be conditions for this, i.e. fitness to drive:

  • can be endorsed without conditions
  • can be approved with conditions
  • should be rejected.

Based on this opinion, the decision of the Road Traffic Office is made. The driver's license is issued depending on:

  • unconditionally redelivered
  • re-issued with conditions (depending on the case, these vary from urine tests over half a year, a whole year or two years; possibly with further traffic medical reports every 6 or 12 months)
  • not issued again (precautionary withdrawal / precautionary withdrawal). First, a further three or six months of THC abstinence must then be documented before a possible granting of the driving licence is discussed - then also with the described conditions.

Abstinence Control

A urine check in hospital costs over 200 francs and usually has to be dispensed once a month. This results in costs of around 3,000 francs per year.

Ultimately, the authorities simply want to see total abstinence if the license is to remain: negative urine controls; clear demarcation from previous consumption; insight that life is better without consumption (with concrete examples); that one has contact with other, abstinent people and no longer with THC users. Increasingly, they also want to know whether there is a shift to alcohol consumption (hair samples are then requested for this purpose).

If all conditions have been fulfilled and the fitness to drive is unreservedly endorsed, the driving licence is returned without conditions. Otherwise, the mills of the road traffic office grind on.

THC use or driver's license

Since urine samples remain positive for a very long time after consumption and the limit is reached quickly, those affected really need to think about this: Driver's license or THC consumption? Those who want or need to keep “the ticket” can no longer continue to consume THC. Even legal hemp products without psychoactive effects may no longer be consumed, as they also lead to positive urine samples can lead to positive urine tests (see Food and CBD Hemp).


The "THCs"

Three levels are determined in the blood:
THC: active substance, legally relevant. Driving under the influence of drugs is considered proven from 1.5 µg/l.
OH-THC: active substance, not legally relevant.
THC-COOH: degradation product, legally indirectly relevant, because more than 40 µg/l is considered as an indication of a possible drug addiction.

Road Traffic Office

The Road Traffic Office is responsible for clarifying the general fitness to drive, i.e. whether a person may still have a driving licence at all (drug addiction rules this out). It arranges for expert reports to be drawn up and decides on measures to be taken (withdrawal by way of precaution, controlled abstinence).

Drug addiction?

The consensus opinion in forensic medicine is that a consumption of once to twice a week is still just tolerable (occasional consumption). From three times a week onwards, they assume “no longer occasional/frequent use”. “no longer occasional/frequent use”… which should justify a suspicion of drug addiction.

Prosecutor's Office

The public prosecutor's office conducts the criminal proceedings. For the punishment it is only relevant whether someone drove a car with at least 1.5 µg/l THC in the blood. If this is the case, the public prosecutor's office issues a penalty order for driving under the influence of drugs (which is a misdemeanour).


Penalties for driving under THC

A federal court ruling puts certain points into perspective.
However, this still needs to be clarified in more detail, because most cases end with a conviction.

Discontinuation orders

Repeat offence during the probationary period

The first time you are caught driving under the influence of drugs, the penalty is usually conditional, so you don't have to pay the costs for the daily fines (but you do have to pay the fine, fees and other costs). But if you get caught again during your probation, it can quickly become enormously expensive. In this case, the prosecutor can revoke the old sentence and form a new sentence from the old and the new case.

Example of an unconditional penalty

Overview and summaries

Specific cases Driving licence

Leaflets and directives

Report on THC limits (2020)

An interesting report from the Institute of Forensic Medicine of the University of Basel on the subject of THC in the blood and driving ability/ability to drive. However, we would like to point out: This is a discussion paper and not yet implemented in current law!

Fact sheet THC limits (short version)

Report THC limits (45 pages)

Summer 2021: New THC limit in road traffic?

Institute of Forensic Medicine Zurich:

Swiss Society of Forensic Medicine SGRM:

Federal Roads Office FEDRO:

Road Traffic Act and Ordinances

Traffic Regulations Ordinance

Traffic Licensing Ordinance

Advertisement

fourtwenty.ch
en/thc_recht/autofahren.txt · Last modified: 2021/09/06 16:19 by sos
This page was translated automatically. Please report mistakes if you find any!

Share page: facebook Twitter

Legal Aid Brochure

Unfortunately, this brochure is only available in German.

Shit happens, 14th edition summer 2021


Shit happens 14
Order now

Hanf, Kiffen, THC und die Gesetze zur Verfolgung von Cannabis
 

Auto fahren

Shit happens 11

Stark illegal: Auto fahren mit THC im Blut

Bedingungen

Eine einzige Zahl aus einem Messgerät entscheidet darüber, ob jemand ein Vergehen ­begangen hat, selbst wenn sonst nichts vorgefallen ist und selbst dann, wenn in der ärzt­lichen Unter­suchung keine Auffälligkeiten festgestellt werden: die oder der Verdächtige also ziemlich sicher fahr­fähig ist.

Tipps

Schwieriges Thema. Eigentlich muss man sich entscheiden: entweder kiffen oder Auto fahren. Und wir meinen hier nicht eine Nacht abstinent sein und dann hoffen, es komme schon gut. Nein, entweder Auto fahren und nie kiffen oder kiffen, aber dann nie Auto fahren. Alles andere ist sehr riskant.

Strafen

Die Strafe ist hoch, weil es ja ein Vergehen ist. Es gibt Busse, dazu Geldstrafe, Gebühren und Unter­suchungs­kosten (zu­sam­men schnell über 1’000 Franken), dazu einen Straf­re­gis­ter­ein­trag, Entzug des «Billetts» für mindestens drei Monate und häufig Abklärung der Fahreignung durch das Strassen­verkehrsamt.

Inserat

fourtwenty.ch


Stark illegal: Auto fahren mit THC im Blut

Konkrete Untersuchung oder Blutwerte?

Früher musste eine Ärztin oder ein Arzt in einer konkreten Untersuchung überprüfen, ob ein Autolenker oder eine Autolenkerin fahrfähig war oder nicht. Doch seit der Einführung der Nulltoleranz im Jahr 2005 genügt der Nachweis von THC im Blut zum Nachweis der Fahrunfähigkeit.
In der Verordnung steht, dass «Tetrahydrocannabinol (Cannabis)» im Blut nachgewiesen zur Fahrunfähigkeit führt. Dies stellt ein Vergehen dar (stark illegal) und wird dementsprechend bestraft. Dazu kommt ein befristeter Ausweisentzug und anschliessend das Verfahren beim Strassenverkehrsamt (siehe unten).

Der Nachweis im Blut

Wenn das Blut mit rechtsmedizinischen Metho­den untersucht wird, kann die darin vorhandene Menge an THC bestimmt werden. Angegeben wird sie in Nanogramm pro Milliliter Blut (ng/ml) bzw. ­Mikrogramm pro Liter Blut (µg/l). (Ähnliches beim Alkohol: Im Blut kann der Promillegehalt an Alkohol bestimmt werden.) Was aber sagt der Wirkstoffgehalt im Blut aus? Kann nun von diesen Werten auf die konkrete Bekifftheit oder Alkoholisierung geschlossen werden? Beim Alkohol sagt der Gesetzgeber Ja und meint, mehr als 0.5 Promille seien für das Führen eines Fahrzeuges nicht zulässig. Umgekehrt bedeutet dies, dass jemand mit 0.4 Promille Alkohol Auto fahren darf.
Bei den illegalen Drogen jedoch soll der Grenzwert null sein bzw. die Grenze von dem, was das Messgerät gerade noch messen kann (etwa ein Mikrogramm pro Liter). Mit der 2005 eingeführten Verordnung genügt also schlicht das Vorhandensein einer äusserst geringen Menge an THC im Blut für die Feststellung der Fahrunfähigkeit: Der Nachweisgrenzwert beträgt 1.5 µg/L. Vom gemessenen THC-Durchschnittswert werden 30 % abgezogen. Ein gemessener Blutwert von 2.2 genügt dann für den Nachweis von THC im Blut und damit ist die Fahrunfähigkeit bewiesen, auch wenn keine Auffälligkeiten beim Lenker/der Lenkerin zu erkennen sind.
Das ist ein extrem tiefer Wert, der nichts mit einer konkreten Bekifftheit/Beeinträchtigung zu tun hat. Denn kurz nach dem Konsum können Werte von dutzenden bis über 100 Mikrogramm pro Liter Blut gemessen werden.

Wie lange bleibt der THC-Wert im Blut nach dem Konsum über 1.5?

Das ist individuell und nach Konsummenge sehr unterschiedlich. Wer nur alle paar Wochen «eins raucht», ist vielleicht nach sechs Stunden unter diesem Wert. Doch wer täglich konsumiert, weist vielleicht immer einen höheren Wert auf. Dieser würde erst nach mehrtägiger Abstinenz unter 1.5 fallen.

Was bedeutet das für THC-Konsumierende?

Wer gelegentlich kifft, sollte also vor dem Autofahren mindestens sechs Stunden nicht gekifft haben. Wer regelmässig kifft, gilt hingegen nie als fahrtauglich, ausser er/sie würde drei Tage vor dem Autofahren mit Kiffen aussetzen. Hier sehen wir deutlich, dass die Nulltoleranz weit über das Ziel hinausgeht, nur die fahruntauglichen Kiffenden aus dem Verkehr zu ziehen. Sie verunmöglicht das legale Autofahren für Menschen, die regelmässig THC konsumieren, selbst wenn sie immer eine Nacht zwischen Konsum und Fahren legen!

Polizeikontrolle im Verkehr

Anlässe für Polizeikontrollen im Verkehr:
➡ ein realer Fehler beim Führen eines Motorfahrzeuges (z. B. Überfahren einer Sicher­heits­linie, zu schnelles Fahren, ein defektes Licht oder die Verwicklung in einen Unfall)
➡ das langsame Fahren, z. B. weil jemand orts­unkundig ist
➡ eine Verkehrsgrosskontrolle ohne spezifischen Grund
➡ gezielte Suche nach Menschen, die früher bereits mit Cannabis auffällig geworden sind.

Wenn eine Polizeikontrolle einmal im Gange ist, können Cannabisgeruch, gerötete Augen oder ein Eintrag wegen Cannabis in der Polizeidatenbank bzw. dem Strafregister zu weiteren Abklärungen führen: Durchsuchung des Autos, der Fahrerin, der Beifahrer…
Ein Drogenschnelltest darf eigentlich nur durch­geführt werden, wenn ein konkreter Verdacht auf Beeinträchtigung der Fahreignung besteht: Kiffen am Steuer, rote Augen, unsichere Fahrweise, unklare Aussprache, Mit­führen von Cannabis etc. Faktisch hat die Polizei hier aber einen enormen Spielraum.

Die einen Polizeien führen nach wie vor die Schnelltests durch, die normalerweise THC-COOH im Schweiss oder Urin nachweisen. Ist dieser positiv, kann eine ärztliche Untersuchung und eine THC-Blutprobe im Spital verfügt werden. Denn THC-COOH ist rechtlich nicht relevant für das Fahren unter Drogen. Hier zählt einzig der THC-Wert im Blut.
Andere Polizeien haben neue Testverfahren eingeführt, die oh­ne die (ungenauen) Drogenschnelltests auskommen. Dabei wird der Fahrer oder die Fahrerin während dreier Minuten standardisiert durch die Polizei befragt und aufgrund der Antworten und sichtbaren Elemente (Speichelfluss, Augenverhalten etc.) entschieden, ob sie die Person ins Spital zur genaueren Abklärung bringen will. Wenn sie das will, muss die Polizei:
➡ die Verdächtigen befragen und ein Protokoll erstellen
➡ sie für die Blutprobe ins Spital chauffieren
➡ den Führerausweis vorläufig entziehen
➡ die Verdächtigen bei der Staatsanwaltschaft verzeigen
➡ Meldung an das Strassenverkehrsamt erstatten.

Ärztlicher Untersuch im Spital

Im Spital werden die Betroffenen durch einen Arzt oder eine Ärztin untersucht und das Ergebnis protokolliert. Diese konkrete Untersuchung hat allerdings im Fall von Drogenkonsum kaum noch Wert. Selbst wenn zum Schluss (wie sehr häufig) «keine Auffälligkeiten» he­rauskommt, nützt das den Betroffenen nichts: Einzig das Ergebnis des Blutuntersuches entscheidet. (Wenn der ärztliche Untersuch Auffälligkeiten feststellt, kann es jedoch weitere Probleme geben.) Bis das Blut untersucht ist, kann es Wochen bis Monate dauern. Der Führerausweis bleibt eingezogen oder wird unter Vorbehalt wieder zurückgeschickt.

Im Blut werden drei Stoffe gemessen:

➡ THC (Tetrahydrocannabinol)
➡ OH-THC (Hydroxy-THC)
➡ THC-COOH (THC-Carbonsäure)

Der THC-Wert ist entscheidend für die Fahrfähigkeit. OH-THC ist (bisher) nicht relevant. Der THC-COOH-Wert ist für die Fahreignung relevant, er gibt Hinweise zur konsumierten Menge.
Gemessen werden alle drei Stoffe in Mikrogramm pro Liter Blut (µg/l). Hohe Werte sind zum Beispiel 23–7–210, tiefe 2–1–30.

Strafbefehl der Staatsanwaltschaft

Das Protokoll der Polizei, die Ergebnisse des ärztlichen Untersuches sowie die Resultate der Blutuntersuchung gehen an die Staatsanwaltschaft. Diese erstellt auf deren Grundlage ei­nen Strafbefehl. Dabei gibt es zwei verschiedene Varianten:

➡ Der THC-Wert im Blut ist unter 1.5 Mikrogramm pro Liter Blut (bzw. 2.2 inkl. Sicherheitsmarge): ➡ Strafbefehl wegen Konsums.
THC im Blut ist zwar nachgewiesen, aber unter der verkehrsrechtlich relevanten Men­ge. Dennoch ist damit illegaler THC-Konsum bewiesen und wird also bestraft (Busse).
Dabei werden die Kosten für den Untersuch (über 1’000 Franken) den Beschuldigten auferlegt, so dass die Rechnung auf gegen 2’000 Franken zu stehen kommt.
Dies ist zwar nur zulässig, wenn man einen konkreten Verdacht geliefert hat, aber es wird tendenziell einfach mal versucht, den Betroffenen die Kosten aufzuerlegen.

➡ Der THC-Wert im Blut ist mindestens 1.5 Mikrogramm pro Liter Blut (bzw. 2.2 inkl. Sicherheitsmarge): ➡ Strafbefehl wegen Fahrens unter Drogen.
Hier ist der illegale THC-Konsum nur der kleinere Teil der Bestrafung (Übertretung), richtig illegal ist das Fahren unter Drogen (Vergehen). Dieses ist mit einem solchen Wert rechtsgültig nachgewiesen.
Nun gibt es neben einer Busse für den Konsum noch eine Geldstrafe (10 bis 20 Tagessätze) für das Fahren unter Drogen, die Kosten des Spitals sind ebenfalls zu berappen. Der Führerausweis wird für drei Monate entzogen. Es gibt einen Eintrag im Strafregister, man ist also vorbestraft.

Polizeikontrolle bei Nicht-Autofahrenden

Ein klassischer Fall ist der THC-Konsum draussen, bei dem jemand von der Polizei erwischt wird und in der Befragung zum Beispiel täglichen Konsum gesteht.
Eine deftige Party oder ein lauter Streit zuhause kann dazu führen, dass die Polizei vorbeischaut und so Kiffutensilien sieht. Dann wird ein Protokoll aufgenommen und ebenfalls nach der Konsumhäufigkeit gefragt.
Oder eine Velofahrerin bzw. ein Fussgänger ist in einen Unfall verwickelt, zum Beispiel auf einem Fussgängerstreifen. Dann werden bei allen Beteiligten Blutproben angeordnet und auch Befragungen durchgeführt.
➡ Die Polizei verzeigt die Betroffenen je nach Vorfall wegen Konsums, Ruhestörung etc. und erstellt eine Meldung ans Strassenverkehrsamt, auch wenn der Vorfall nichts mit dem motorisierten Strassenverkehr zu tun hatte.

Massnahmen des Strassenverkehrsamtes

Wenn das Strassenverkehrsamt aus irgendeinem Grund (z. B. Meldung durch die Polizei) informiert wird, dass eine Person mit Führerausweis THC konsumiert, überprüft es, ob diese mit ihrem Cannabiskonsum ein Risiko für den Strassenverkehr darstellt. Sollte dies bejaht werden (weil bei der betroffenen Person z. B. Konsum am Steuer oder regelmässiger Konsum festgestellt wurde), kann ein vorsorglicher Sicherungsentzug erfolgen, also eine Abnahme des Führerausweises auf unbestimmte Zeit.

➡ Geht es nur um einen gestandenen Konsum von ein oder zwei Mal pro Woche und ist dieser in keiner Weise mit dem Strassenverkehr verbunden, unternimmt das STVA normalerweise nichts. Eben­so, wenn der THC-COOH-Gehalt unter 40 µg/l liegt (falls das Ergebnis eines Blutuntersuches vorliegt). Die Sache ist damit erledigt (bleibt aber in den Akten).

➡ Wenn THC ab 1.5 µg/l am Steuer rechtsgültig nachgewiesen wurde, wird eine Fahreignungsabklärung veranlasst. Ebenso, wenn das THC unter 1.5 liegt, aber Konsum von mehr als zwei Mal pro Woche gemeldet wird und auch, wenn der THC-COOH-Wert über 40 liegt. Auch das Mitführen von Cannabis erhärtet die Zweifel an der Fahreignung (keine Trennung von Konsum und Strassenverkehr). Dies alles läuft dann unter «Verdacht auf Drogensucht».

Verkehrsmedizinisches Gutachten

Urinkontrolle, Blutuntersuch und verkehrsmedizinisches Gutachten (Kosten über 1’000 Franken) sollen klären, ob eine Drogensucht vorliegt. Das Gutachten empfiehlt dann, ob dem oder der Untersuchten die Fahreignung zugesprochen werden kann und ob es Auflagen dafür geben sollte, die Fahreignung also:
➡ ohne Auflagen befürwortet werden kann
➡ mit Auflagen befürwortet werden kann
➡ abgelehnt werden sollte.

Aufgrund dieses Gutachtens wird der Entscheid des Strassenverkehrsamtes gefällt. Der Führerausweis wird je nachdem:
➡ ohne Auflagen wieder zugestellt
➡ mit Auflagen wieder erteilt (je nach Fall variieren diese von Urinkontrollen über ein halbes Jahr, ein ganzes Jahr oder zwei Jahre; mit weiteren verkehrsmedizinischen Gutachten alle 6 oder 12 Monate)
➡ nicht wieder erteilt (vorsorglicher Ent­zug/ Sicherungsentzug). Zuerst müssen dann weitere drei oder sechs Monate THC-Abstinenz dokumentiert werden, bevor eine allfällige Erteilung des Führerausweises erörtert wird – dann ebenfalls mit den beschriebenen Auflagen.

Abstinenzkontrolle

Eine Urinkontrolle im Spital kostet über 200 Franken und muss meistens einmal pro Monat abgegeben werden. Das ergibt also Kosten von gegen 3’000 Franken pro Jahr.
Letztlich wollen die Behörden schlicht totale Abstinenz sehen, wenn der Ausweis belassen werden soll: negative Urinkontrollen; klare Abgrenzung vom bisherigen Konsum; Einsicht, dass es ohne Konsum im Leben besser geht (mit konkreten Beispielen); dass man mit anderen, abstinenten Menschen Kontakt hat und nicht mehr mit THC-Konsumierenden. Vermehrt wollen sie auch wissen, ob es eine Verlagerung zum Alkoholkonsum gibt (dafür werden dann Haarproben verlangt).
Wurden alle Auflagen erfüllt und wird die Fahreignung uneingeschränkt befürwortet, gibt es den Führerschein ohne Auflagen zurück. Sonst mahlen die Mühlen des Strassenverkehrsamtes weiter.

THC-Genuss oder Führerausweis

Da Urinproben sehr lange nach einem Konsum positiv bleiben und der Grenzwert schnell erreicht wird, müssen sich Betroffene hier wirklich überlegen: Autofahren oder THC-Genuss? Wer den Führerausweis behalten will oder muss, kann nicht mehr weiter THC konsumieren. Selbst legale Hanfprodukte ohne psychoaktive Wirkung dürfen nicht mehr konsumiert werden, da auch sie zu positiven Urinproben führen können (siehe Lebensmittel und CBD-Hanf).

Die «THCs»

Im Blut werden drei Werte bestimmt:
THC: Wirkstoff, rechtlich relevant. Fahren unter Drogen gilt ab 1.5 µg/l als bewiesen.
OH-THC: Wirkstoff, rechtlich nicht relevant.
THC-COOH: Abbauprodukt, rechtlich indirekt relevant, denn über 40 µg/l gelten als Hinweis auf eine mögliche Drogensucht.

Strassenverkehrsamt

Das Strassenverkehrsamt ist zuständig für die Abklärung der generellen Fahreignung, also ob jemand überhaupt noch einen Führerausweis haben darf (Drogensucht schliesst dies aus). Es lässt dazu Gutachten erstellen und verfügt Massnahmen (Sicherungsentzug, kontrollierte Abstinenz).

Drogensucht?

Die Konsensmeinung in der Rechtsmedizin ist, dass ein Konsum von ein- bis zweimal pro Woche noch knapp tolerierbar ist (gelegent­licher Konsum). Bereits ab drei Mal pro Wo­che gehen sie von einem «nicht mehr ge­le­gent­li­chen/󠀭häufigen Konsum» aus, der ei­nen Ver­dacht auf Drogensucht begründen soll.

Staatsanwaltschaft

Die Staatsanwaltschaft führt das strafrechtliche Verfahren. Für die Bestrafung ist nur relevant, ob jemand mit mindestens 1.5 µg/l THC im Blut Auto gefahren ist. Wenn dem so ist, dann erlässt die Staatsanwaltschaft einen Strafbefehl wegen Fahrens unter Drogen (was ein Vergehen darstellt).


Strafen wegen Fahren unter THC

Ein weiterer Strafbefehl von 2013

Ein Strafbefehl von 2013

Ein Strafbefehl von 2012

Ein Strafbefehl von 2010

Eine teure Einstellungsverfügung

Ein Bundesgerichtsurteil relativiert gewisse Punkte.
Das muss aber noch genauer abgeklärt werden, denn die meisten Fälle enden mit einer Verurteilung.

Führerausweis / Zusammenfassungen

Konkrete Fälle Führerausweis

Strassenverkehrsgesetz und Verordnungen

Verkehrsregeln-Verordnung

Verkehrszulassung-Verordnung

Führerausweis Weisungen

Institut für Rechtsmedizin Zürich:
ASTRA Bundesamt für Strassen:

Inserat

fourtwenty.ch
thc_recht/autofahren.txt · Zuletzt geändert: 2018/06/09 15:41 von fabian
 
Falls nicht anders bezeichnet, ist der Inhalt dieses Wikis unter der folgenden Lizenz veröffentlicht: CC Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported
Recent changes RSS feed Donate Powered by PHP Valid XHTML 1.0 Valid CSS Driven by DokuWiki