Still difficult: THC in medicine

Laws

Prohibited narcotics
Narcotics Act NarcA, SR 812.121, Article 8, Paragraph 1 (Narcotics of the cannabis effect type are prohibited, except for medical use), in PDF (2023) on page 8

Medical application
Data collection, in PDF (2023) on page 10, FOPH information system, in PDF (2023) on page 17

Conditions

In the medical field, preparations containing THC have been prescribable by doctors since 2022. Since then, no more exemptions have been required. However, prescriptions must be recorded in a database.

Tips

The key is to find a doctor who really wants to treat with hemp and knows what it's all about. They must really want to make the effort. But also with commitment: it takes time and patience. Only a few patients have managed it so far.

Penalties

Anyone who violates the conditions of the licenses can have their license withdrawn and be punished. In principle, the distribution company always has one foot in the door as a drug dealer, because if a license does not apply, NarcA applies (misdemeanor, as it concerns distribution).


Still difficult: THC in medicine

Old regime for THC in medicine

From 2012 to 2018, 12,000 exemptions were granted (limited to 6 to 12 months). Since the end of 2022, exemptions are no longer required, only a doctor's prescription is needed.

Doctors are allowed to decide

A doctor must determine that a sick person could be helped with THC therapy and issue a prescription for this. On the one hand, synthetic products such as Dronabinol, also known as Marinol, can be prescribed. On the other hand, products such as Sativex or specially produced tinctures (so-called magistral formulations), which are made from natural cannabis, can also be prescribed. The preparations often contain 2.5 to 5 % THC. Cannabis flowers can now also be prescribed.

Cannabis can help with many problems

Dronabinol, for example, is used in Switzerland for the following symptoms, among others: Nausea and vomiting, loss of appetite and emaciation, anorexia and weight loss, spasticity, muscle cramps and muscle hardening, pain conditions, asthma, glaucoma, epilepsy, sleep disorders and anxiety as well as movement disorders. Patients with these symptoms suffer from multiple sclerosis, cancer, AIDS, Alzheimer's, hepatitis C, anorexia or other serious illnesses, for example. In Switzerland, most exemptions used to be granted for cancer, followed by multiple sclerosis.

No great enthusiasm

There has been no boom in prescriptions since THC was made easier to use for medical purposes. Even though doctors no longer have to apply for an exemption permit and therefore have less work to do, they still have to record prescriptions in a FOPH database. Over the years, this data should be used to develop guidelines as to which dosages and forms of application are recommended for which diseases.

However, the main problem is that most doctors have no experience with cannabis as a medicine and only very rarely prescribe such preparations. In most cases, they only prescribe them when all other treatments have failed, i.e. when the patient has reached the end of their therapy.

High costs usually have to be paid by the customer

The entire chain of activities that lead to the end product “hemp-based medicine” and have something to do with its distribution to patients are strictly regulated. This includes the cultivation of hemp, the production of remedies, the treatment and the trade in cannabis as medicine. The costs for these remedies are therefore very high. As health insurance companies rarely reimburse these remedies, patients usually have to bear the costs themselves. However, many are unable to do so, meaning that the black market continues to play a major role here.

Regulation for cultivation and distribution

If the medicine is to be dispensed by a pharmacy, it requires an operating license for controlled substances in accordance with Article 11 of the Narcotics Control Ordinance. Such a license is also required if a pharmacy wishes to produce a medicine itself from the prohibited cannabis, such as a hemp tincture.

The cultivation of hemp (from 1 % THC) for the production of medicines is also regulated by law. In principle, the “grower” requires an operating license or must act on behalf of a licensed company. An application for an operating license must contain the following: adequate protection against theft; a written contract with an authorized company; precise information on the type and quantity of cultivation; a guarantee that the entire quantity of cultivation will be delivered to the client.

The bureaucratic effort involved discourages most potential producers of medicinal hemp from growing legally. The costs incurred due to the various licensing requirements mean that a medicine that has cleared all the hurdles to be approved for treatment is not cheap. The costs can quickly amount to hundreds of francs per month.

Medicinal hemp and driving

It seems to us that it has not yet been conclusively clarified whether someone with THC-containing medication is allowed to drive or not. What is certain is that the detection limit of 1.5 micrograms per liter of blood, which otherwise applies to everyone, does not apply here.

However, this does not mean that those affected are on the safe side when driving a motor vehicle. This only means that the ability to drive cannot be proven by the THC content in the blood. The statements of the police and the medical examination are decisive here. This does not always seem to be clearly communicated to us by doctors.

It would also be possible to undergo a fitness to drive test to clarify whether the prescribed THC drug generally impairs driving or not. However, such an investigation is expensive and the outcome is uncertain.

The facilitations for medicinal hemp came into force on August 1, 2022 and a new era has begun. Doctors can prescribe hemp containing THC without having to apply for a special permit. But this does not mean that medicinal hemp is simply released. The following documents give an impression of this:

More about hemp in medicine

An incomplete collection of links…

Switzerland

News

International

Those who want to transport prescribed narcotics in the Schengen area will find some information here.

News

THC chemistry and biochemistry

Effects of THC

Vaporization / Harm Reduction

Last modified: 2024/06/10 18:27

Share page: facebook X (Twitter)

Legal overview

Shit happens 15 (Summer 2023)

This overview as PDF

Do you speak English? → Go to our English page!

Weiterhin schwierig: THC in der Medizin

Gesetze

Verbotene Betäubungsmittel
Be­täu­bungs­mittel­gesetz BetmG, SR 812.121, Artikel 8, Absatz 1, Buchstabe d (Betäubungsmittel des Wirkungstyps Cannabis sind verboten, ausser für medizinische Verwendung), im PDF (2023) auf Seite 9
Medizinische Anwendung
Datenerhebung, im PDF (2023) auf Seite 11, Informationssystem BAG, im PDF (2023) auf Seite 18

Bedingungen

Im medizinischen Bereich sind THC-haltige Präparate seit 2022 durch Ärzte und Ärztinnen verschreibbar. Es braucht seither keine Ausnahmebewilligungen mehr. Die Verschreibungen müssen jedoch in einer Datenbank erfasst werden.

Tipps

Entscheidend ist, einen Arzt oder eine Ärztin zu finden, die oder der wirklich mit Hanf behandeln will und weiss, um was es geht. Sie müssen den Aufwand wirklich auf sich nehmen wollen. Aber auch mit Engagement: Es dauert und braucht Geduld. Geschafft haben es bisher nur wenige Kranke.

Strafen

Wer Auflagen der Bewilligungen verletzt, dem kann die Bewilligung entzogen werden und der kann bestraft werden. Im Prinzip steht die Ver­triebs­firma immer mit einem Bein als Drogenhändlerin da, denn wenn eine Bewilligung nicht greift, gilt das BetmG (Vergehen, da es um Weitergabe geht).


Weiterhin schwierig: THC in der Medizin

Altes Regime für THC in der Medizin

Von 2012 bis 2018 wurden 12’000 Ausnahme­bewilligungen erteilt (befristet auf 6 bis 12 ­Monate). Seit Ende 2022 sind nun keine Ausnahmebewilligung mehr nötig, es braucht nur noch ein ärztliches Rezept.

Ärzte und Ärztinnen dürfen entscheiden

Ein Arzt oder eine Ärztin muss feststellen, dass einer kranken Person mit einer THC-Therapie geholfen werden könn­te und dafür ein Rezept ausstellen. Dabei können einerseits synthetische Produkte wie Dronabinol, auch bekannt als Marinol, verschrieben werden. Andererseits können auch Produkte wie Sativex oder eigens hergestellte Tink­turen (so genannte Magistralrezepturen) verschrieben werden, welche aus natürlichem Cannabis hergestellt werden. Die Präparate enthalten häufig 2.5 bis 5 % THC. Es können mittlerweile auch Cannabisblüten verschrieben werden.

Cannabis kann bei vielen Problemen helfen

Dronabinol zum Beispiel wird in der Schweiz un­ter anderem bei folgenden Symp­tomen eingesetzt: Übelkeit und Erbrechen, Appetitlosigkeit und Abmagerung, Anorexie und Gewichtsverlust, Spastik, Muskelkrämpfe und Muskelver­här­tung, Schmerzzustände, Asthma, grüner Star, Epilepsie, Schlafstörungen und Angstzustände sowie Bewegungsstörungen. Kranke mit diesen Symptomen leiden zum Beispiel an Multipler Sklerose, Krebs, Aids, Alzheimer, Hepatitis C, Magersucht oder anderen schweren Erkrankungen. In der Schweiz betrafen die meisten Ausnahmebewilligungen früher Krebserkrankungen, ge­folgt von Multipler Sklerose.

Keine grosse Begeisterung

Seit der Erleichterung für die medizinische Verwendung von THC hat es keinen Boom bei den Verschreibungen gegeben. Auch wenn die Ärzte und Ärztinnen keine Ausnahmebewilligung mehr beantragen müssen und so weniger Aufwand haben, müssen sie doch die Verschreibungen in einer Datenbank des BAG erfassen. Aus diesen Daten sollten über die Jahre Richtlinien entwickelt werden, bei welchen Krankheiten welche Dosierungen und Anwendungsformen empfohlen werden.

Doch das Hauptproblem besteht darin, dass die meisten Ärztinnen und Ärzte keine Erfahrung mit Cannabis als Medikament haben und solche Präparate nur sehr selten verschreiben. Meist verschreiben sie sie auch erst dann, wenn alle anderen Behandlungen keinen Erfolg hatten, wenn die Kranken also austherapiert sind.

Hohe Kosten müssen meist selber bezahlt werden

Die ganze Kette von Aktivitäten, welche zum Endprodukt «Medikament auf Hanfbasis» führen und etwas mit seiner Abgabe an Patienten und Patientinnen zu tun haben, sind streng geregelt. Darunter fallen der Hanfanbau, die Herstellung der Heilmittel, die Behandlung sowie der Handel mit Cannabis als Medizin. Daher sind die Kosten für diese Heilmittel sehr hoch. Da die Krankenkassen diese Mittel nur selten vergüten, müssen die Patientinnen und Patienten die Kosten meistens selber tragen. Viele vermögen dies aber nicht, so dass der Schwarzmarkt hier nach wie vor eine grosse Rolle spielt.

Regelung für Anbau und Vertrieb

Wenn das Medikament von einer Apotheke abgegeben werden soll, benötigt diese dafür eine Betriebsbewilligung auf kontrollierte Substanzen gemäss Artikel 11 der Betäubungsmittel­kon­trollverordnung. Eine solche wird auch ­benötigt, wenn eine Apotheke selber ein Medikament aus dem verbotenen Cannabis, wie z. B. eine Hanftinktur, herstellen will.

Auch der Anbau von Hanf (ab 1 % THC), der zur ­Her­­stel­lung von Medikamenten dienen soll, ist gesetzlich re­g­le­mentiert. Grundsätzlich benötigt der «Grower» eine Betriebsbewilligung oder muss im Auftrag ei­nes bewilligten Betriebes handeln. Ein Gesuch zur Betriebsbewilligung muss Folgendes enthalten: ausreichenden Schutz vor Diebstahl; einen schriftlichen Vertrag mit ei­nem bewilligten Betrieb; genaue ­Angaben über Art und Menge des Anbaus; die Garantie, dass die gesamte Anbaumenge an den Auftraggeber abgeliefert wird.

Der bürokratische Aufwand schreckt die meisten potenziellen Produzenten und Produ­zen­tinnen von medizinischem Hanf ab, legal an­zubauen. Die Kosten, die aufgrund der verschiedenen Bewilligungspflichten entstehen, bewirken, dass ein Medikament, welches alle Hürden genommen hat, um dann ausnahmswei­se zur Behandlung zugelassen zu werden, nicht billig ist. Die Kosten können schnell hunderte von Franken pro Monat betragen.

Hanfarzneimittel und Autofahren

Es scheint uns bis jetzt nicht abschliessend geklärt, ob jemand mit THC-haltigen Medikamenten Auto fahren darf oder nicht. Sicher ist, der sonst für alle gültige Nachweisgrenzwert von 1.5 Mikrogramm pro Liter Blut gilt hier nicht.

Doch das bedeutet nicht, dass die Betroffenen damit auf der sicheren Seite sind, wenn sie ein Motorfahrzeug lenken. Denn das bedeutet nur, dass die Fahrfähigkeit nicht mit dem THC-Gehalt im Blut bewiesen werden kann. Hier sind nun die Aussagen der Polizei und der ärztliche Untersuch entscheidend. Dies scheint uns von den Ärztinnen und Ärzten nicht immer klar kommuniziert zu werden.

Es wäre auch möglich, eine Fahreignungsüberprüfung zu durchlaufen, um abzuklären, ob das verschriebene THC-Medikament generell das Autofahren beeinträchtig oder nicht. Aber eine solche Abklärung ist teuer und der Ausgang ungewiss.

Empfohlenes Vorgehen, empfohlene Therapien

Die Erleichterungen für Medizinalhanf sind am 1. August 2022 in Kraft getreten und eine neue Ära hat begonnen. Ärzte und Ärztinnen können THC-haltigen Hanf verschreiben, ohne eine Ausnahmebewilligung beantragen zu müssen. Aber damit ist Medizinalhanf nicht einfach freigegeben. Folgende Dokumente geben einen Eindruck davon:

Weiteres zu Hanf in der Medizin

Eine unvollständige Linksammlung…

Schweiz

News

International

Wer verschriebene Betäubungsmittel im Schengenraum transportieren will, findet hier einige Angaben dazu.

News

THC-Chemie und -Biochemie

Wirkungen von THC

Verdampfen / Harm Reduction

Zuletzt geändert: 2024/03/18 15:00

Seite teilen: facebook X (Twitter)

Rechtliche Übersicht

Shit happens 15 (Sommer 2023)


Shit happens 15
Jetzt bestellen