New THC limit in road traffic?

A report outlines the situation of the THC limit in road traffic and works out three possible solutions to the limit problem. But a report is not yet a new approach. For this, some pressure must be generated, for which we also want to make a contribution.

Prehistory of the report

The 2018 annual report of the Institute of Forensic Medicine of the University of Basel (IRM Basel) revealed that it had won a major tender with several sub-projects of the Federal Office of Public Health (FOPH) on cannabis-specific projects. What exactly was planned then became clear for the first time in August 2019, when Markus Jann, then Head of the Drugs Section of the Federal Office of Public Health, announced in the NZZ am Sonntag that the situation of the THC limit in road traffic was “legally unsatisfactory” and shortly afterwards added in the SRF Tagesschau that the Federal Office of Public Health wants to find out “where the border to intoxicating effect lies with cannabis”.

The situation in Switzerland

In an ordinance of the current Road Traffic Act, which has been in force since January 1, 2005, it was stated in turn that “tetrahydrocannabinol (cannabis) detected in the blood leads to inability to drive”. For this purpose, a fixed THC limit of 1.5 µg/liter of whole blood was established (“µg” means microgram, i.e. one millionth of a gram), which with a tolerance of 30% leads to a de facto limit of 2.2µg/liter of whole blood, above which the inability to drive is proven. This limit is a purely analytical value, which means that it says little about the “stonedness” of a person. Since THC can be detected in the body of a person much longer than it takes effect, this leads to the fact that users with this limit value are classified as unfit to drive for a very long time. The association Legalize it! has therefore been demanding for a long time that a limit value must be determined that has to do with the concrete impairment - and not simply an analysis value may be taken.

This is what the report is about

In a report published in December 2020, a team from IRM Basel has now compared the situation of THC limits around the world and worked out three possible solutions for Switzerland. Based on this research, according to which the first signs of impairment arise from about 1 to 2.5 µg/liter THC in whole blood, and restrictions corresponding to a blood alcohol concentration of 0.5‰ begin at about 3.0 to 4.1 µg/liter THC in whole blood, the report presents the following three possible solutions:

⇒ Variant 1: Zero tolerance and thus an analytical limit of 1.5 µg/liter THC in whole blood is maintained. Thus, with a tolerance of 30%, the inability to drive is proven from a THC concentration of 2.2 µg/liter whole blood.

⇒ Variant 2: The limit value is raised to a risk limit value of 3 µg/liter THC in whole blood. This means that those drivers who actually show measurable impairment are prosecuted. Taking into account a tolerance of 30%, the inability to drive is considered proven from a value of 4.3 µg/liter THC in whole blood.

⇒ Variant 3: A multilevel system with two limit values, 2.2 µg/liter THC in whole blood and 4.3 µg/liter THC in whole blood, is implemented (including a tolerance of 30%). At the upper limit, the inability to drive is considered proven and an assignment to a driving fitness assessment is made. For the range between the limit values, administrative measures can be implemented. In the case of mixed consumption with alcohol, however, the inability to drive is already deemed to exist from the lower limit value, and a clarification of fitness to drive is carried out.

We see: Variant 1 would not change anything in the current system, variant 2 would raise the THC limit and variant 3 would be something in between.

What the report means

Basically, the report is initially a situation analysis, the proposals are not binding in any form for review. The report also states that the responsible Federal Roads Office (FEDRO) is “rather critical” of a review of the current rule. FEDRO spokesman Thomas Rohrbach adds in the so far only media article that has appeared on this report (Tagesanzeiger, December 2020) that FEDRO considers a review to be “conceivable” after all, but considers three points to be important: Unlike alcohol, not enough research has been done on cannabis to determine exactly how its consumption in different forms and quantities affects individuals. Moreover, there is no clear declaration of the THC content of cannabis. In contrast to alcohol, the THC concentration cannot be calculated back to the time of driving, but this is necessary because the blood sample may not be taken until hours after driving.

It is becoming clear that if progress is to be made on this issue, political pressure must be generated. That is why it is important that people who have the interests of THC users at heart organize themselves and thus also increase the pressure.

Last modified: 2022/03/26 16:23

Share page: facebook X (Twitter)

Legal overview

Shit happens 15 (Summer 2023)

This overview as PDF

Do you speak English? → go to our English page!

Neuer THC-Grenzwert im Strassenverkehr?

Ein Bericht skizziert die Situation des THC-Grenzwerts im Strassenverkehr und arbeitet drei Lösungsansätze für die Grenzwertproblematik aus. Doch ein Bericht ist noch kein neuer Umgang. Dafür muss einiges an Druck erzeugt werden, wofür auch wir einen Beitrag leisten wollen.

Vorgeschichte des Berichts

Dem Jahresbericht 2018 des Instituts für Rechtsmedizin der Universität Basel (IRM Basel) konnte man entnehmen, dass dieses eine grössere Ausschreibung mit mehreren Teilprojekten des Bundesamts für Gesundheit (BAG) zu cannabisspezifischen Projekten gewonnen hatte. Was genau geplant war, wurde dann erstmals im August 2019 klar, als Markus Jann, damaliger Leiter Sektion Drogen des Bundesamts für Gesundheit in der NZZ am Sonntag verkündete, dass die Situation des THC-Grenzwerts im Strassenverkehr «rechtlich unbefriedigend» sei und in der SRF-Tagesschau kurz darauf nachschob, dass das Bundesamt für Gesundheit herausfinden will, «wo bei ­Cannabis die Grenze zur berauschenden Wirkung liegt».

Die Situation in der Schweiz

In einer Verordnung des heutigen Strassenverkehrsgesetzes, das seit dem 1. Janu­ar 2005 in Kraft ist, wurde seinerseits festgehalten, dass «Tetrahydrocannabinol (Cannabis) im Blut nachgewiesen zur Fahrunfähigkeit führt». Dafür wurde ein fixer THC-Grenzwert von 1.5 µg/Liter Vollblut festgelegt («µg» be­deutet Mikrogramm, also ein Millionstel Gramm), welcher mit einer Toleranz von 30% zu einem fakti­schen Grenzwert von 2.2µg/Liter Vollblut führt, ab dem die Fahrunfähigkeit bewiesen ist. Dieser Grenzwert ist ein ­reiner Analysewert, das heisst, er sagt wenig über die «Bekifftheit» einer Person aus. Da THC im Körper einer Person viel länger nachweisbar ist, als es wirkt, führt das dazu, dass mit diesem Grenzwert Konsumierende sehr lange als fahrunfähig eingestuft werden. Der Verein Legalize it! fordert darum schon lange, dass ein Grenzwert ­ermittelt werden muss, der mit der konkreten Beeinträchtigung zu tun hat – und nicht einfach ein Analysewert genommen werden darf.

Darum geht es im Bericht

Ein Team des IRM Basel hat nun in einem im Dezember 2020 erschienenen Bericht die Situation von THC-Grenzwerten auf der ganzen Welt verglichen und für die Schweiz drei Lösungsansätze ausgearbeitet. ­Anhand dieser Recherche, wonach sich erste Zeichen einer Beeinträchtigung ab ca. 1 bis 2.5 µg/Liter THC im Vollblut ergeben, und Einschränkungen entsprechend einer Blutalkoholkonzentration von 0.5‰ bei ca. 3.0 bis 4.1 µg/Liter THC im Vollblut beginnen, präsentiert der Bericht folgende drei ­Lösungsansätze:

⇒ Variante 1: Nulltoleranz und damit ein analytischer Grenzwert von 1.5 µg/Liter THC im Vollblut wird beibehalten. Damit ist bei einer Toleranz von 30% die Fahrunfähigkeit ab einer THC-Konzentration von 2.2 µg/Liter Vollblut erwiesen.

⇒ Variante 2: Der Grenzwert wird auf einen Risiko-Grenzwert von 3 µg/Liter THC im Vollblut angehoben. Damit werden diejenigen Lenker belangt, die tatsächlich messbare Beeinträchtigungen aufweisen. Unter der Berücksichtigung einer Toleranz von 30% gilt die Fahrunfähigkeit ab einem Wert von 4.3 µg/Liter THC im Vollblut als erwiesen.

⇒ Variante 3: Es wird ein mehrstufiges ­System mit zwei Grenzwerten, 2.2 µg/Liter THC im Vollblut und 4.3 µg/Liter THC im Vollblut umgesetzt (inkl. Toleranz von 30%). Ab dem oberen Grenzwert gilt die Fahrunfähigkeit als erwiesen und es erfolgt eine Zuweisung zur Fahreignungsabklärung. Für den Bereich zwischen den Grenzwerten können Administrativmassnahmen umgesetzt werden. Bei Mischkonsum mit Alkohol gilt die Fahrunfähigkeit jedoch ­bereits ab dem unteren Grenzwert, und es erfolgt eine Abklärung der Fahreignung.

Wir sehen: Variante 1 würde nichts am ­jetzigen System ändern, Variante 2 würde den THC-Grenzwert anheben und Variante 3 wäre etwas dazwischen.

Was der Bericht bedeutet

Grundsätzlich ist der Bericht zunächst eine Situationsanalyse, die Vorschläge sind nicht in irgendeiner Form zur Über­prüfung verpflichtend. Der Bericht hält denn auch fest, dass das zuständige Bundesamt für Strassen (ASTRA) einer Überprüfung der heutigen Regel «eher kritisch» gegenübersteht. ASTRA-Sprecher Thomas Rohrbach ergänzt im bis jetzt einzigen Medien­artikel, der zu diesem Bericht erschienen ist (Tagesanzeiger, Dezember 2020), dass das ASTRA eine Überprüfung eventuell zwar doch für «denkbar» hält, aber drei Punkte für wichtig erachtet: Anders als bei Alkohol sei bei Cannabis noch nicht ­genügend erforscht, wie dessen Konsum in den unterschiedlichen Formen und Mengen auf die einzelnen Menschen genau wirke. Überdies fehle bei Cannabis eine klare ­Deklaration des THC-Gehalts. Im ­Gegensatz zum Alkohol könne die THC-Konzentration nicht auf den Zeitpunkt der Fahrt zurückgerechnet werden, das sei aber nötig, weil die Entnahme der Blutprobe unter Umständen erst Stunden nach der Fahrt erfolgen könne.

Es wird klar: Wenn es in dieser Frage vorwärtsgehen soll, dann muss politischer Druck erzeugt werden. Darum ist es wichtig, dass sich Menschen, denen die Interessen von THC-Konsumierenden am Herzen liegen, organisieren und damit auch den Druck erhöhen.

thc_recht/li910607.txt · Zuletzt geändert: 2021/09/06 16:22 von sos

Seite teilen: facebook Twitter

Rechtshilfe-Broschüre

Shit happens, 14. Auflage vom Sommer 2021


Shit happens 14
Jetzt bestellen