Summer 2017: The cities in search of a better deal

Urban hemp projects

The discussions about urban hemp projects (cannabis clubs, controlled hemp dispensaries) are already old. Already in 2006 there were efforts for a controlled sale of cannabis in the city of Bern. There were also considerations in the city of Zurich. But on 15.6.07 the Bund headlined: “No pilot test with cannabis”. Because that's just the way it is: The NarcA is a nationwide law, which cannot be changed by one city alone. Besides the medical use with special permission, there is only the possibility of a scientific trial in the NarcA.

In 2010, Zurich wanted to develop one, but didn't really move forward. Then Geneva wanted to tackle the issue properly. On 2/19/14, the NZZ headlined, “Geneva gets serious with new cannabis regulation.” But this project did not get off the ground either. At least the interested cities met regularly in a joint working group: “Cities focus on cannabis clubs” (NZZ, 5.2.16).

Order for research project

Bern also wanted to try hemp. And those responsible really stuck to it, despite all the problems and resistance. In March 2016, the city council of Bern commissioned the Institute for Social and Preventive Medicine at the University of Bern to work out a detailed research project.

This is not about permanent cannabis social clubs or similar, but about researching scientific questions. The aim of the project is to test a regulated cannabis sale: Consumption and purchasing behavior are to be researched, the participants' state of mind is recorded and they have to fill out online questionnaires several times. In addition, there are prevention measures and counseling services. The duration is limited, usually to three years, and probably a few hundred people will participate. The sale takes place in certain pharmacies. We are therefore a long way from cannabis social clubs or even a “stoner mecca Bern” (Blick, 15.3.16).

As it is a human research project, the project requires approval from the cantonal ethics committee in Bern. In August 2016, the project was submitted there and in March 2017, those responsible (local councilor Franziska Teuscher and university professor Matthias Egger) were able to announce the approval of the commission. The National Fund also supports the study.

Will the permit be granted?

Now comes the decisive step: the submission of the project to the Federal Office of Public Health (FOPH). However, this would have been without a chance without the years-long, step-by-step development of the necessary basics - like the earlier attempts. The FOPH decides on the exceptional approval for the handling of illegal hemp in the context of this research project. An approval now seems possible - after all, it is clearly about scientific research. If the approval comes, similar research projects from the city of Zurich and the cantons of Basel-Stadt and Geneva could be submitted. First, however, Bern must submit its project to the FOPH.

Last modified: 2023/12/22 21:16

Share page: facebook X (Twitter)

Legal overview

Shit happens 15 (Summer 2023)

This overview as PDF

Hanf, Kiffen, THC und die Gesetze zur Verfolgung von Cannabis
 

Sommer 2017: Die Städte auf der Suche nach einem besseren Umgang

Städtische Hanfprojekte

Die Diskussionen um städtische Hanf-Projekte (Cannabis-Clubs, kontrollierte Hanf-Abgaben) sind schon alt. Bereits 2006 gab es in der Stadt Bern Bestrebungen für einen kontrollierten Verkauf von Cannabis. Auch in der Stadt Zürich gab es Überlegungen dazu. Doch am 15.6.07 titelte der Bund: «Kein Pilotversuch mit Cannabis». Denn es ist halt so: Das BetmG ist ein gesamtschweizerisches Gesetz, das kann eine Stadt nicht alleine ändern. Neben der medizinischen Verwendung mit Sonderbewilligung gibt es im BetmG nur die Möglichkeit eines wissenschaftlichen Versuches.

2010 wollte Zürich einen solchen entwickeln, kam aber nicht wirklich voran. Dann wollte Genf das Thema richtig anpacken. Am 19.2.14 titelte die NZZ: «Genf macht mit neuer Cannabis-Regulierung Ernst». Doch auch dieses Projekt kam nicht zum Laufen. Immerhin trafen sich die interessierten Städte regelmässig in einer gemeinsamen Arbeitsgruppe: «Städte setzen auf Cannabis-Klubs» (NZZ, 5.2.16).

Auftrag für Forschungsprojekt

Auch Bern wollte einen Hanf-Versuch unternehmen. Und die Verantwortlichen blieben wirklich dran, trotz aller Probleme und Wi­der­stände. Im März 2016 beauftragte der Gemeinderat der Stadt Bern das Institut für Sozial- und Präventivmedizin der Uni Bern, ein detailliertes Forschungsprojekt auszuarbeiten.

Dabei geht es nicht um dauerhafte Cannabis Social Clubs oder Ähnliches, sondern um die Erforschung wissenschaftlicher Fragestellungen. Ziel des Projektes ist, einen regulierten Can­­nabisverkauf zu prüfen: Konsum- und Kaufverhalten sollen erforscht werden, das Befinden der Teilnehmenden wird erfasst und sie müssen mehrmals Online-Fragebögen ausfüllen. Dazu gibt es Präventions­mass­nahmen und Beratungsangebote. Die Dauer ist begrenzt, meistens auf drei Jahre, teilnehmen werden wohl ein paar hundert Menschen. Der Verkauf findet in bestimmten Apotheken statt. Von Cannabis Social Clubs oder gar einem «Kiffer-Mekka Bern» (Blick, 15.3.16) sind wir also weit entfernt.

Da es ein Humanfor­schungs­projekt ist, benötigt das Projekt eine Bewilligung der kantonalen Berner Ethikkommission. Im August 2016 wurde das Projekt dort eingereicht und im März 2017 konnten die Verantwortlichen (Ge­meinderätin Franziska Teuscher und Uni-Professor Matthias Egger) die Zustimmung der Kommission vermelden. Auch der Nationalfonds unterstützt die Studie.

Wird die Bewilligung erteilt?

Nun kommt der entscheidende Schritt: die Eingabe des Projektes beim Bundesamt für Gesundheitswesen (BAG). Dies wäre aber ohne die jahrelange, schrittweise Erarbeitung der nötigen Grundlagen chancenlos gewesen – wie die früheren Anläufe. Das BAG entscheidet über die ­Aus­nahmebewilligung für den Umgang mit illegalem Hanf im Rahmen dieses Forschungsprojektes. Eine Zusage scheint nun mög­lich – geht es doch klar um wissenschaftliche Forschung. Wenn die Bewilligung kommt, könnten ähnliche Forschungsprojekte aus der Stadt Zürich sowie den Kantonen Basel-Stadt und Genf eingereicht werden. Zuerst muss nun aber Bern sein Projekt beim BAG einreichen.

thc_recht/li770707.txt · Zuletzt geändert: 2018/09/20 11:24 (Externe Bearbeitung)
 
Falls nicht anders bezeichnet, ist der Inhalt dieses Wikis unter der folgenden Lizenz veröffentlicht: CC Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported
Recent changes RSS feed Donate Powered by PHP Valid XHTML 1.0 Valid CSS Driven by DokuWiki