Pilot tests on track, but what can they deliver?

A real legalization is not yet a topic in parliament. At least the bill for the pilot tests has been passed by the National Council (before the elections, this almost failed). The Council of States will probably approve it. And then?

Cannabis Pilot Projects

The debate in the National Council

In June 2020, the National Council debated the bill on pilot projects. The vote was taken 13 times. This was because the opposition, especially from the SVP, had diligently introduced amendments. They wanted to include elements in the bill, many of which would have made the implementation of the pilot projects more difficult or practically impossible. National Councilor Flavia Wasserfallen (SP) rightly called these amendments “pilot project killers.

These minority motions wanted to declare the Federal Council responsible for the authorization instead of the FOPH; to introduce ominous health and safety criteria; to include only Swiss hemp in the bill instead of Swiss organic hemp; to inform the employers or schools of the participants; to force the issuance of the driver's license for the participants; anyone who became ill because of cannabis use or who used other illegal drugs would not have been admitted; the maximum THC content should have been limited to 15%; participants should not have been dependent on social welfare or received an IV pension.

But all these motions were rejected after the discussion, with 112 to 122 to 70 to 80 votes (some with single abstentions) quite clearly, after all.

The center parties (CVP, EVP, BDP) brought in that no federal funds should flow for these projects. This motion was also rejected, here the vote ratio was somewhat tighter with 107 to 86.

During this discussion in the National Council, we experienced two more or less fixed blocs with very different world views. Above all, the doggedness of the minority against any change to the status quo, even as modest as these pilot projects, is irritating. This strongly suggests that, if the deal now also passes through the Council of States, they will seriously consider a referendum.

In the final vote, the bill was approved in the National Council by 113 votes to 81 (0 abstentions). Let's take a closer look at the distribution of votes this time as well.

Final vote on cannabis pilots in the National Council (June 2, 2020).

Group for this against it Abstentions
SP 39 0 0
Green 29 0 0
GLP 16 0 0
FDP 16 10 0
Center 12 18 0
SVP 1 53 0

We see the old pattern confirmed in hemp votes: SP, Greens and GLP united in favor; the FDP split, but rather in favor; in the center fraction some yes votes, but majority rejection; the SVP as usual in the opposing camp, although this time at least one SVP national councilor dropped out.

Now it's off to the Council of States

The matter is now before the Council of States. The Commission for Social Security and Health of the Council of States discussed the business on August 10 and 11 and approved it by 8 to 4 votes. However, it wants unanimously and unlike the National Council that not “exclusively” Swiss organic hemp may be used, but only “if possible”. Now the Council of States is dealing with the bill. At the time of going to press, this was scheduled for September 9, 2020.

➡ Details on parlament.ch, 19.021

Standstill or a step forward?

On the one hand, this is really not about solving the cannabis issue. It's just about enabling some studies and then in ten years we could discuss further: so blockade for another decade? On the other hand, it is the only way that at least a few thousand people could get clean weed legally during a few years. Otherwise there is nothing comparable: so at least a step forward?

Other political projects

A hemp law of its own!

The pilot projects are only very limited in terms of time and number. A real legalization or even a decriminalization is of course something completely different. A separate hemp law has been demanded in parliament on several occasions, so far without success.

Two bills had/have this as a goal:

➡ Heinz Siegenthaler (BDP): “Equal treatment of cannabis and high-proof alcohol”, 18.3150

Another proposal that was buried without a sound: It is considered “done”, but not in the sense of being processed or even implemented, but in the sense of “written off” (i.e. waste paper), because it was not dealt with in the Council within two years.

What a pity, this proposal could have been a starting point for something really new.

Beat Flach (GLP): “Legalize cannabis and generate tax substrate for AHV and IV”, 18.4009

This deal is still pending, but it faces the same fate as the previous one: Soon the two-year deadline will have expired. However, it is possible that a new parliamentary initiative in this direction will be submitted at any time.

A popular initiative is a big project in which many people have to be involved. Also due to the pandemic, this topic has not progressed quickly. However, various discussions and clarifications are taking place. Anyone who wants to help with this is welcome to get in touch.

➡ Info and subscription to the newsletter at www.cannabis-consensus.ch

Online petition: Not punishable shall not be punishable

The petition of Ruth and Silvia Zwahlen has been extended until October 31, 2020. It is about limiting the prosecution of the consumers. Anyone who would like to sign it is cordially invited to do so. More info: www.hanfmuseum.ch/politik

➡ The petition to sign can be found here: The petition to sign can be found here.

Last modified: 2023/12/22 21:16

Share page: facebook X (Twitter)

Legal overview

Shit happens 15 (Summer 2023)

This overview as PDF

Do you speak English? → go to our English page!

Pilotversuche auf Kurs, aber was können sie bringen?

Eine richtige Legalisierung ist bisher kein Thema im Parlament. Immerhin ist die Vorlage zu den Pilotversuchen durch den Nationalrat gekommen (vor den Wahlen war dies ja beinahe gescheitert). Der Ständerat wird sie wohl annehmen. Und dann?

Cannabis-Pilotprojekte

Die Debatte im Nationalrat

Im Juni 2020 hat der Nationalrat über die Vorlage zu den Pilotprojekten debattiert. Dabei wurde 13 Mal abgestimmt. Denn die Gegnerschaft, vor allem aus der SVP, hatte fleissig Änderungsanträge eingebracht. Die­se wollten Elemente in die Vorlage einbauen, von denen viele die Durchführung der Pilotversuche erschwert oder praktisch verunmöglicht hätten. Nationalrätin Flavia Wasserfallen (SP) bezeichnete diese Anträge zu Recht als «Pilotprojekt-Killer».

Diese Minderheitsanträge wollten statt des BAG den Bundesrat für die Bewilligung zuständig erklären; ominöse Gesundheits- und Sicherheitskriterien einführen; statt Schweizer Bio-Hanf nur Schweizer Hanf in die Vorlage aufnehmen; die Arbeitgeber oder Schulen der Teilnehmenden informieren; die Abgabe des Führerausweises für die Teilnehmenden er­zwingen; wer wegen Cannabiskonsum krank wurde oder andere illegale Drogen konsumiert, wäre nicht zugelassen worden; der maximale THC-Gehalt hätte auf 15 % begrenzt werden sollen; Teilnehmende hätten weder sozialhilfeabhängig sein noch eine IV-Rente beziehen dürfen.

Doch alle diese Anträge wurden nach der Diskussion abgelehnt, mit 112 bis 122 zu 70 bis 80 Stimmen (teilweise bei einzelnen Enthaltungen) ziemlich deutlich, immerhin.

Die Mitteparteien (CVP, EVP, BDP) brachten ein, dass keine Bundesmittel für diese Projekte fliessen dürften. Auch dieser Antrag wurde abgelehnt, hier war das Stimmenverhältnis mit 107 zu 86 etwas knapper.

Wir erlebten bei dieser Diskussion im Nationalrat zwei mehr oder weniger fixe ­Blöcke mit sehr unterschiedlichen Welt­anschau­ungen. Vor allem irritiert die Verbissenheit der Minderheit gegen jegliche Änderung am Status quo und sei sie noch so bescheiden wie diese Pilotprojekte. Das deutet stark darauf hin, dass sie, falls das Geschäft nun auch durch den Ständerat kommt, ein Referendum ernsthaft erwägen wird.

In der Schlussabstimmung wurde die Vorlage im Nationalrat mit 113 zu 81 Stimmen (0 Enthaltungen) angenommen. Die Verteilung der Stimmen wollen wir uns auch dieses Mal genauer anschauen.

Schlussabstimmung Cannabis-Pilot­projekte im Nationalrat (2. Juni 2020)

Fraktion dafür dagegen Enthaltungen
SP 39 0 0
Grüne 29 0 0
GLP 16 0 0
FDP 16 10 0
Mitte 12 18 0
SVP 1 53 0

Wir sehen das alte Muster bei Hanf-Abstimmungen bestätigt: SP, Grüne und GLP geschlossen dafür; die FDP gespalten, aber eher dafür; in der Mittefraktion einige Ja-Stimmen, aber mehrheitlich Ablehnung; die SVP wie gewohnt im gegnerischen Lager, wobei dieses Mal immerhin ein SVP-Nationalrat ausscherte.

Nun gehts in den Ständerat

Das Geschäft liegt nun beim Ständerat. Die Kommission für soziale Sicherheit und Gesundheit des Ständerates hat das Geschäft am 10. und 11. August beraten und mit 8 zu 4 Stimmen befürwortet. Sie möchte jedoch einstimmig und anders als der Nationalrat, dass nicht «ausschliesslich» Schweizer Bio-Hanf verwendet werden darf, sondern nur «wenn möglich». Nun befasst sich der Ständerat mit der Vorlage. Bei Redaktionsschluss war dafür der 9. September 2020 geplant.

➡ Details auf parlament.ch, 19.021

Stillstand oder ein Schritt vorwärts?

Einerseits geht es hier wirklich nicht um die Lösung der Cannabisfrage. Es geht nur um die Ermöglichung von einigen Studien und in zehn Jahren könnte man dann weiterdiskutieren: also Blockade für ein weiteres Jahrzehnt? Andererseits ist es die einzige Möglichkeit, dass wenigstens ein paar tausend Menschen während einiger Jahre sauberes Gras auf legalem Weg erhalten könnten. Sonst gibt es nichts Vergleichbares: also immerhin ein Schrittchen vorwärts?

Weitere politische Projekte

Ein eigenes Hanfgesetz!

Bei den Pilotprojekten geht es ja nur um zeitlich und zahlenmässig sehr begrenzte Versuche. Eine richtige Legalisierung oder auch nur schon eine Entkriminalisierung ist selbstverständlich etwas ganz anderes. Ein eigenes Hanfgesetz wurde im Parlament schon verschiedentlich gefordert, bisher oh­ne Erfolg.

Zwei Geschäfte hatten/haben dies zum Ziel:

➡ Heinz Siegenthaler (BDP): «Gleichbehandlung von Cannabis und hochprozentigem Alkohol», 18.3150

Wieder ein Vorstoss, der sang- und klanglos beerdigt wurde: Er gilt als «erledigt», aber nicht im Sinne von bearbeitet oder gar umgesetzt, sondern im Sinne von «abgeschrieben» (also Altpapier), weil er innert zweier Jahre nicht im Rat behandelt wurde.

Schade, dieser Vorschlag hätte ein Ausgangspunkt für etwas wirklich Neues sein können.

➡ Beat Flach (GLP): «Cannabis legalisieren und Steuersubstrat für die AHV und IV generieren», 18.4009

Dieses Geschäft ist noch hängig, aber es droht ihm das gleiche Schicksal wie dem vorherigen: Bald ist die Zweijahresfrist abgelaufen. Es ist allerdings jederzeit möglich, dass eine neue parlamentarische Initiative in diese Richtung eingereicht wird.

Projekt Volksinitiative

Eine Volksinitiative ist ein grosses Projekt, bei dem viele mitziehen müssen. Auch aufgrund der Pandemie ist es mit diesem Thema nicht schnell vorangegangen. Es finden jedoch verschiedene Diskussionen und Abklärungen statt. Wer dabei helfen will, kann sich gerne melden.

➡ Infos und Abo des Newsletters auf www.cannabis-consensus.ch

Online-Petition: Nicht strafbar soll nicht strafbar sein

Die Petition von Ruth und Silvia Zwahlen wurde bis 31. Oktober 2020 verlängert. Es geht darum, die Verfolgung der Konsumierenden einzuschränken. Wer sie unterzeichnen möchte, ist herzlich dazu eingeladen. Weitere Infos: www.hanfmuseum.ch/politik

➡ Die Petition zum Unterschreiben ist hier zu finden: Die Petition zum Unterschreiben ist hier zu finden

thc_recht/li880203.txt · Zuletzt geändert: 2020/12/08 15:40 von sos

Seite teilen: facebook Twitter

Rechtshilfe-Broschüre

Shit happens, 14. Auflage vom Sommer 2021


Shit happens 14
Jetzt bestellen