A pilot project for cannabis social clubs?

Instead of a total ban, various possibilities are conceivable as to how our society could deal with THC-rich products. It is important to us that not only the state, the addiction agencies or the economy determine this, but also the consumers.

A door is opened

With the entry into force of the bill on pilot projects, the scope for experimentation may open up a bit. Various ideas are already circulating in the media on how such pilot projects could be implemented. Politicians, cities and addiction associations have already spun out over-regulated ideas. The consumers, i.e. we who are actually affected, are mostly reduced to the object of investigation.

How do we design this space?

But what do we want? What could be a first scenario that could also be implemented in reality? And what could be possible questions of such a study?

The question of what we want as users is answered quickly and simply: safe, legal and inexpensive access to products containing THC. In Switzerland, most users obtain their cannabis from acquaintances without having to pay for it. Those who use regularly pay for it. Only a few obtain it through the street or even grow it themselves. The latter, however, supply the Swiss market for the most part. So why a complex study with elaborate distribution management via pharmacies or “dispensaries”? And let's be honest, who voluntarily gets his cannabis from a pharmacy like a junkie gets methadone? We don't want “Fixerstübli”. We simply want a place where people can meet with friends, consume and have fun. Ideally with infrastructure to grow your own. In other words, a Cannabis Social Club. This is a model project that was proposed by the European organization ENCOD in 2005 and is already being implemented successfully, especially in Spain.

The following rules must be observed:

⇒ The infrastructure is financed by membership fees.

⇒ Cultivation, transport, distribution and consumption are controlled.

⇒ Passing on to outsiders is not permitted.

⇒ There is usually a club venue with seating, entertainment, and a bar where non-alcoholic beverages can be consumed.

⇒ For reasons of economy and control, cultivation takes place in a larger secured cultivation room. Experienced club members take care of growing the plants. Those who don't have green thumbs help with harvesting, storage, packaging, and distribution.

Would such an approach be possible?

If we look at the draft regulation, a scientifically supervised cannabis social club would be quite possible in a very limited setting.

However, the participants would have to commit to playing guinea pigs and would probably have to undergo medical examinations several times.

Not everyone would be able to participate, as the authorities would probably define strict criteria for participation. For example, people with a previous mental illness would not be allowed to participate.

Interested persons who have to drive motor vehicles professionally would probably also be excluded.

Participants in the association Legalize it! would have the necessary knowledge and experience to run such a club. There would be many exciting questions that could be scientifically investigated within the framework of such a pilot project:

What effects does access to controlled cannabis have on users? How can such a club be financed and organized? What about the acceptance of such a model among the Swiss population? Can the users themselves run such clubs (personal responsibility)? Can a positive consumption culture be developed (reflected consumption)? Can the forms of consumption be made less harmful (smoking / vaporizing / eating)? Are hemp varieties with lower THC content also accepted?

Should we tackle something like this?

At the moment, it's just a nice idea that's floating around. But such a project with the association Legalize it! as the driving force would be a good way to show society that there are working alternatives to the current drug policy.

What do you think?

Please give us some feedback: Do you think this makes sense? Would you want to get involved in this?

Specifically, members of us would have to approach interested cities. These are the ones who have been most adamant about such experiments. Together with them, a realization would be most feasible. This is because the application for a corresponding exemption from the FOPH will require a lot of work: A comprehensive study design is needed.

⇒ First, the definitive ordinance of the Federal Council must now be issued. Until then, we should consider whether and how we want to approach a participation trial.

en/thc_recht/li890405.txt · Last modified: 2022/03/26 16:23 (external edit)
This page was translated automatically. Please report mistakes if you find any!

Share page: facebook Twitter

Legal Aid Brochure

Unfortunately, this brochure is only available in German.

Shit happens, 14th edition summer 2021


Shit happens 14
Order now

Ein Pilotprojekt für Cannabis Social Clubs?

Statt Totalverbot wären ja verschiedene Möglichkeiten denkbar, wie ­unsere Gesellschaft einen Umgang mit THC-reichen Produkten gestalten könnte. Wichtig ist uns, dass nicht nur der Staat, die Suchtfachstellen oder die Wirtschaft dies bestimmen, sondern auch die Konsumierenden.

Eine Türe wird geöffnet

Mit dem Inkrafttreten der Vorlage zu den Pilotprojekten öffnet sich der Spielraum für Experimente vielleicht ein bisschen. In den Medien kursieren ­bereits verschiedene Ideen, wie solche ­Pilotprojekte umgesetzt werden könnten. Politik, Städte und Suchtverbände haben ja bereits überregulierte Ideen gesponnen. Die Konsumierenden, also wir, die es ­eigentlich betrifft, werden dabei meist nur auf das Untersuchungsobjekt reduziert.

Wie gestalten wir diesen Raum?

Doch was wollen wir? Was könnte ein erstes Szenario sein, das auch in der ­Realität umsetzbar wäre? Und was könnten ­mögliche ­Fragestellungen einer solchen Studie sein?

Die Frage, was wir als Konsumierende wollen, ist schnell und einfach beantwortet: einen sicheren, legalen und kostengünstigen Zugang zu THC-haltigen Produkten. In der Schweiz beziehen die meisten Konsumierenden ihr Cannabis von Bekannten, ohne dafür bezahlen zu müssen. Wer regelmässig konsumiert, zahlt dafür. Nur wenige beziehen über die Gasse oder bauen gar selber an. Letztere versorgen ­jedoch den Schweizer Markt zum grössten Teil. Warum also eine komplexe Studie mit aufwen­digem Vertriebsmanagement über Apotheken oder «Abgabestellen»? Und sind wir mal ehrlich, wer bezieht freiwillig sein ­Cannabis in der Apotheke wie ein Junkie das Methadon? Wir wollen keine «Fixer­stübli». Wir wollen einfach einen Ort, wo man sich mit Freundinnen und Freunden trifft, konsumiert und Spass hat. Idealerweise mit Infra­struktur, um selber anzubauen. Also einen Cannabis Social Club. Dies ist ein Modellprojekt, welches 2005 von der europäischen Organisation ENCOD vorgeschlagen wurde und vor allem in Spanien bereits ­erfolgreich umgesetzt wird.

Folgende Regeln sind dabei zu beachten:

⇒ Die ­Infrastruktur wird über Mitgliederbeiträge finanziert.

⇒ Anbau, Transport, Verteilung und ­Konsum werden kontrolliert.

⇒ Weitergabe an Aussenstehende ist nicht erlaubt.

⇒ Meist gibt es ein Clublokal mit Sitz­gelegenheiten, Unterhaltung und einer Bar, an der nichtalkoholische Getränke ­konsumiert werden können.

⇒ Der Anbau geschieht aus Gründen der Wirtschaftlichkeit und Kontrolle in einem grösseren abgesicherten Anbauraum. ­Erfahrene Clubmitglieder kümmern sich um die Aufzucht der Pflanzen. Wer keinen grünen Daumen hat, hilft mit bei der Ernte, Lagerung, Verpackung und Verteilung.

Wäre ein solcher Ansatz möglich?

Betrachten wir den Entwurf der Verordnung, so wäre ein wissenschaftlich begleiteter Cannabis Social Club in einem sehr begrenzten Rahmen durchaus möglich.

Die Teilnehmenden müssten sich jedoch verpflichten, Versuchskaninchen zu spielen und sich wohl mehrmals einer medizi­nischen Untersuchung unterziehen.

Nicht alle könnten dabei mitmachen, da die ­Behörden wohl strenge Kriterien zur Teilnahme definieren. Beispielsweise ­dürften Personen mit einer psychischen Vorerkrankung nicht mitmachen.

Auch ­Interessierte, die beruflich Motor­fahrzeuge führen müssen, würden wohl ­ausgeschlossen.

Verein Legalize it! mit erstem legalem ­Cannabis Social Club?

Mitwirkende im Verein Legalize it! hätten das nötige Wissen und die Erfahrung, einen solchen Club zu betreiben. Dabei gäbe es viele spannende Fragestellungen, die wissenschaftlich im Rahmen eines ­solchen Pilotprojekts untersucht ­werden könnten:

Welche Auswirkungen hat der Zugang zu kontrolliertem Cannabis auf die Konsumierenden? Wie kann sich ein solcher Club ­finanzieren und ­organisieren? Wie sieht es mit der ­Akzeptanz eines solchen Modells in der Schweizer Bevölkerung aus? Können die Konsumierenden ­selber solche Clubs führen (Eigenverantwortung)? Kann eine positive Konsumkultur entwickelt ­werden (reflektierter Konsum)? Können die Konsumformen weniger schädlich ausgestaltet werden (Rauchen / Verdampfen / Essen)? Werden auch Hanf­sorten ­mit tieferem THC-Anteil akzeptiert?

Sollen wir so etwas anpacken?

Momentan ist es lediglich eine schöne Idee, die im Raum steht. Ein solches Projekt mit dem Verein Legalize it! als treibende Kraft wäre aber eine gute Möglichkeit, der ­Gesellschaft zu zeigen, dass es funktio­nierende Alternativen zur jetzigen ­Drogenpolitik gibt.

Was meinst du dazu?

Bitte gib uns eine Rückmeldung: Findest du das sinnvoll? Würdest du dich hierfür engagieren wollen?

Konkret müssten Mitglieder von uns auf ­interessierte Städte zugehen. Diese haben sich ja am hartnäckigsten für solche Versuche ausgesprochen. Mit diesen zusammen wäre eine Realisierung am ehesten umsetzbar. Denn das Gesuch für eine ­entsprechende Ausnahmebewilligung des BAG wird viel Arbeit erfordern: Es braucht ein umfassendes Studiendesign.

⇒ Zuerst muss nun die definitive Verordnung des Bundesrates erlassen werden. Bis dahin sollten wir uns überlegen, ob und wie wir einen Teilnahmeversuch angehen wollen.

thc_recht/li890405.txt · Zuletzt geändert: 2021/03/04 15:19 von sos

Seite teilen: facebook Twitter

Rechtshilfe-Broschüre

Shit happens, 13. Auflage vom Sommer 2020


Shit happens 13
Jetzt bestellen