sh4343.jpg

I am under 18 years old - what applies to me?

Juvenile criminal law

Many pot-related arrests involve juveniles. If you are under 18, many things are a little different than with adults. Basically, the prohibition remains as we describe it in this brochure, but the range of punishment is even more open than with adults. This means that the youth prosecutor's office has a very wide discretion as to how to intervene when it learns that young people are smoking pot. They can summon them or give them a written warning (and possibly also charge them a fine).

Thus, a Winterthur youth prosecutor mentioned in the Tages-Anzeiger of May 26, 2001: “We have a lot of marijuana users - even today. (…) We no longer have to do interrogation in certain cases because of overload. But we continue to summon stoners under 15. Only over 15-year-olds we treat in writing.” Cost would then 140 francs. However, those who are conspicuous or have been reported several times, of course, will be dealt with more harshly. And the possibilities range from a warning, to work assignments, to conditional or unconditional incarceration. (Conditional means that the punishment is not enforced immediately, but during a certain time, for example one or two years, it is seen whether the convicted person will reoffend - only then is the punishment enforced).

Courses for smokers

In certain municipalities, when young people who smoke pot are noticed, the youth prosecutor's office does not immediately impose a penalty, but the young people have to attend prevention courses and deal with the issue of addiction. In the case of repeated conspicuousness, a penalty is then imposed.

And in addition, the parents also have a say in the case of under-18s. Usually they are informed by the juvenile lawyer. Mail from the juvenile lawyer also reaches the parents' address, of course. Then, at the latest, in addition to the interference of the authorities, there is also a discussion with the parents. They react very differently. While some parents smoke pot themselves, for other parents a whole world collapses - they see their offspring lying under a bridge with a needle in their arms. These talks with the parents are more difficult for many young people than the punishment by the juvenile prosecutor's office.

Not all young people get the same turn

Those who get good grades in school or perform well in their apprenticeship normally do not have to fear severe sanctions. On the other hand, those who do poorly in training or even develop other illegal activities (fiddling with motorcycles, theft) are naturally dealt with more severely. And the earlier someone is caught, the greater the likelihood that he or she will receive increasingly severe penalties - because repeat offenses can be punished more severely each time. It really makes a lot of sense to postpone the first reprimands in life as much as possible. After all, anyone who has already received several fines before reaching the age of majority will have a difficult adult life.

Joint consumption

One specific point is new to note: If young people under the age of 18 smoke pot together with young people over the age of 18, passing on the joint is legal for those who pass it on to young people over the age of 18, but for those who pass it on to young people under the age of 18 it is misdemeanor, i.e. massively illegal behavior. This provision was probably intended to combat the oh-so-evil dealers, but it will affect adults who consume THC products together with young people - and likewise young people who smoke joints with other young people. Here, too, there is a transfer to under 18-year-olds!

en/thc_recht/sh4343.txt · Last modified: 2021/10/18 17:19 (external edit)
This page was translated automatically. Please report mistakes if you find any!

Share page: facebook Twitter

Legal Aid Brochure

Unfortunately, this brochure is only available in German.

Shit happens, 14th edition summer 2021


Shit happens 14
Order now

Verein Legalize it!

Hanf, Kiffen, THC und die Gesetze zur Verfolgung von Cannabis

Benutzer-Werkzeuge

Webseiten-Werkzeuge


thc_recht:sh4343

Ich bin unter 18 Jahre alt – was gilt für mich?

Jugendstrafrecht

Viele Verzeigungen wegen Kiffens betreffen Jugendliche. Wenn du noch keine 18 Jahre alt bist, ist vieles ein wenig anders als bei den Erwachsenen. Grundsätzlich bleibt das Verbot, wie wir es in dieser Broschüre beschreiben, aber der Strafrahmen ist noch offener als bei den Erwachsenen. Das heisst, dass die Jugendanwaltschaft ein sehr grosses Ermessen hat, wie sie eingreifen will, wenn sie erfährt, dass Jugendliche kiffen. Sie kann sie vorladen oder auch schriftlich ermahnen (evtl. auch mit Spruchgebühren belegen).

So erwähnte ein Winterthurer Jugendanwalt im Tages-Anzeiger vom 26. Mai 2001: «Wir haben sehr viele Marihuanakonsumenten – auch heute noch. (…) Wir müssen wegen Überlastung in gewissen Fällen keine Einvernahme mehr machen. Aber Kiffer unter 15 Jahren laden wir weiterhin vor. Nur über 15-Jährige behandeln wir schriftlich.» Kosten würde das dann 140 Franken. Wer allerdings auffällig ist oder mehrmals angezeigt wurde, wird natürlich härter angefasst. Und die Möglichkeiten reichen von einer Verwarnung, über Arbeitseinsätze bis zu einer bedingten oder unbedingten Einschliessung. (Bedingt heisst, dass die Strafe nicht sofort vollzogen wird, sondern während einer bestimmten Zeit, zum Beispiel ein oder zwei Jahre, geschaut wird, ob der oder die Verurteilte wieder straffällig wird – nur dann wird die Strafe vollzogen.)

Kurse für Kiffende

In gewissen Gemeinden wird, wenn kiffende Jugendliche auffallen, auch nicht sofort eine Strafe durch die Jugendanwaltschaft verhängt, sondern die Jugendlichen müssen Präventionskurse besuchen und sich mit dem Thema Sucht auseinandersetzen. Bei wiederholter Auffälligkeit wird dann eine Strafe ausgesprochen.

Und ausserdem haben die Eltern bei unter 18-Jährigen auch noch einiges zu sagen. Üblicherweise werden sie vom Jugendanwalt informiert. Auch die Post des Jugendanwaltes gelangt natürlich zur Elternadresse. Spätestens dann steht neben der behördlichen Einmischung auch noch ein Gespräch mit den Eltern an. Diese reagieren sehr verschieden. Während die einen Eltern selber kiffen, bricht für andere Eltern eine ganze Welt zusammen – sie sehen dann ihren Nachwuchs schon mit der Nadel im Arm unter irgendeiner Brücke liegen. Diese Gespräche mit den Eltern sind für viele Jugendliche schwieriger als die Bestrafung durch die Jugendanwaltschaft.

Nicht alle Jugendlichen kommen gleich dran

Wer in der Schule gute Noten hat oder seine Leistung im Lehrbetrieb bringt, hat normalerweise kaum schwere Sanktionen zu befürchten. Wer hingegen in der Ausbildung schlecht mitkommt oder gar noch weitere illegale Aktivitäten entwickelt (Töffli frisieren, Diebstähle), der wird natürlich härter angefasst. Und je früher jemand erwischt wird, desto grösser ist die Wahrscheinlichkeit, dass er oder sie immer härtere Strafen bekommt – denn Wiederholungstaten können mit jedem Mal schärfer bestraft werden. Es ist wirklich sehr sinnvoll, die ersten Verzeigungen im Leben so weit wie möglich hinauszuschieben. Denn wer bereits vor der Volljährigkeit mehrere Bussen bekommen hat, wird ein schwieriges Erwachsenenleben bekommen.

Gemeinsamer Konsum

Ein spezieller Punkt ist neu zu beachten: Wenn Jugendliche unter 18 Jahren mit über 18-jährigen zusammen kiffen, dann ist die Weitergabe des Joints für diejenigen, die den Joint an über 18-Jährige reichen legal, für diejenigen aber, die den Joint an unter 18-Jährige weitergeben ist es ein Vergehen, also ein massiv illegales Verhalten. Gedacht war diese Bestimmung wohl gegen die ach so bösen Dealer, treffen wird sie die Erwachsenen, die gemeinsam mit Jugendlichen THC-Produkte konsumieren – und ebenfalls Jugendliche, die mit anderen Jugendlichen Joints rauchen. Auch hier erfolgt ja eine Weitergabe an unter 18-Jährige!

thc_recht/sh4343.txt · Zuletzt geändert: 2019/05/07 17:29 von sos